To keep your library organised it is a good idea to regularly remove any duplicate records. You may have duplicate records from importing the same record from different databases or from doing similar searches in the same database.

Follow the steps

1. Click on the Library tab.
2. Click on Find Duplicates, you will be presented with records to compare, highlighting the differences.
3. Select the reference you would like to keep.

Watch the video (1 min 2 sec)

NOTE: Set which fields to match by setting preferences (the less fields selected the more possible duplicates will be found).

Watch the video (51 sec)

Manually via search

You can manually download the PDF file after you have found a reference through searching the Library Collection or a database.  Attach PDFs to your references by dragging and dropping the files onto the relevant reference.

1. Select References from the top menu
2. Select File Attachments > Attach File.

Automatically

This function allows you to collect and attach PDF files to references. To enable EndNote to search the full range of openly accessible resources, ensure you've set up your UniSA preferences first.

1. In EndNote, select your reference(s)
2. Select the Find Full Text icon
3. Found PDFs will be automatically attached to the relevant references

NOTE: Find full text will work for many journals but sometimes the search does not communicate well with a publisher site. For any not found, highlight the reference, right click, then click on URL and then on OpenURL link. This will connect you to full text where available.

EndNote > Edit > Preferences > Find Full Text >

Deselect 'Automatically invoke Find Full Text on newly-imported references > Save

Ticking this box restricts full-text retrieval as it only pulls in the full text for references that were imported from text files. References imported through direct export or from online search will fail.

This works more effectively if you are logged into your EndNote Online account with open browser session open whilst running the function.

More help

Once you've attached a PDF to a reference in your EndNote library, you can annotate the PDF

• Highlight the reference
• Select EndNote Summary
• From the PDF drop down menu, select Open

NOTE: You can add notes and other markups, including highlighting, underlining and striking out text.

Watch the video below, no audio (1 min 16 sec)

More help

You can use the Find and Replace tool in EndNote to change all your references or a group of references.

NOTE: Create a back up of your library before you make a large change as there is no undo function if you make a mistake.

The single reference restoration feature is the ability to compare and restore previous versions of individual references to correct any accidental mishaps. If your library files get deleted or damaged, you can restore your library with the data restoration function, ensuring your research is not lost.

Watch the video (1 min) below

Groups and Group Sets

Groups are folders into which you can organise your references. Create custom Groups into which you can manually drag-and-drop references. You can add the same reference into multiple Group Sets.

Watch these videos

More info

Smart Groups

Smart Groups (including combination/combined groups) are automatically updated as you add references to your EndNote library.

1. In the navigation pane, right-click on My Groups
2. Select Create Smart Group
3. Name your group, then use the fields to set up rules for your smart group, then select Create

Watch this video (1 min 6 sec)

Combination/combined Groups

1. In the navigation pane, right-click on My Groups
2. Select Create From Groups...
3. Name your group, then use the fields to select how you want to combine your groups

Watch this video (1 min)

Tags are customisable labels that help you find references faster with colour-coded tags. You can add tags to references and customise the colour and name of the tags. You can add multiple tags to a reference and anyone who you share your library with can view a tag.

Watch the video (30 sec)

EndNote provides several extra fields that can be used to organise your references (they won't appear in the bibliography). These fields are searchable using the Search panel. Fields include:

• Labels - can be used for many purposes including adding a keyword or a code
• Research notes - useful for adding detailed notes
• Notes - can also be used to add notes (be aware some imported references will come with info here)

EndNote allows you to share your library with up to 400 others, if you need to share a library with your supervisor or a colleague when you’re co-authoring a paper.

Share your library

To share your entire EndNote library, follow these steps: 

1. Sync your EndNote library with your EndNote Online account
2. Then File > Share… (the top box will show who you have shared the library with once it’s populated. You can see their access level and you can change this clicking on the cog)
3. In the pop-up window, in the middle box, type the email address of the person you would like to share your library with
4. Set your Permission of this library (e.g. Read & Write). Include a message, particularly if they aren’t expecting the invite.
5. Select Invite

NOTE: A shared library can be accessed on all your devices as the shared library is synced with your EndNote Online account.

Watch this video

More help

Share Groups from your library

Share a specific set of references from your EndNote library with up to 1,000 colleagues.

1. Open your synced library
2. Right-click a Group or, Group Menu > Share Group
3. You will see a Sharing Group dialogue
4. Enter the email address (or addresses separated by commas) of the people that you would like to invite
5. For each invitee, use the dropdown box to select the desired access level, Read & Write or Read Only
6. Enter an optional message to be sent
7. Click on Invite

NOTE: People you have shared Groups with cannot view file attachments.

Watch this video

More help

Open a shared library

Access someone else's library from the EndNote desktop only . You can be a member of several libraries. You cannot rename a library someone has shared with you or add other people to the library.

1. Click the Accept the Invitation link within their email
2. File > Open Shared Library (the email address of the library owner who shared their library will appear, select their email address to open EndNote Online
3. Sign in to EndNote Online

NOTE: You can see shared Groups on EndNote Desktop, but they can only be edited in EndNote Online. Go to EndNote Online, create a new Group, select the shared references and move into the Group. Sync your EndNote Desktop account, the new Group will appear. Then you can edit them or insert into an MS Word document.

Watch these videos

More help