Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why search for organisations?
When looking for grey literature you may want to explore organisations relevant to your research area in order to find unpublished material.
These groups might include:
- government agencies
- academic or research institutes
- industry bodies
- professional associations
- peak bodies
- advocacy groups
Scopus allows you to analyse search results and identify affiliated organisations (e.g. universities, research centres) to explore further
Scopus results analyzer
- Run your search in Scopus.
- Select Analyze search results (top of results page).
- Scroll down and select Documents by affiliation
You can choose a date range when analysing the results (top right).
This will show the top affiliations from your search results, based on frequency; they may have websites to explore
One of the largest multidisciplinary bibliographic databases, Scopus covers peer reviewed journals, trade journals, books and book chapters, conference papers and patents. Material chosen for inclusion meets strict selection criteria such as type of peer review and significance to the field. Also provides backward and forward citation searching, publication metrics and analytical features
Web of Science also allows you to analyse your search results to identify potentially relevant organisations.
Web of Science results analysis
- Run your search in Web of Science.
- Select Analyze results
- Select Affiliations
Web of Science
One of the largest multidisciplinary bibliographic databases, Web of Science covers journals, conference papers and meeting abstracts. UniSA subscribes to 5 of the 6 databases that make up the Web of the Science 'Core Collection' and which can be searched separately or together. Material chosen for inclusion meets strict selection criteria. Also provides backward and forward citation searching, publication metrics and analytical features
Guidelines and standards
'Specify all databases, registers, websites, organisations, reference lists, and other sources searched or consulted to identify studies. Specify the date when each source was last searched or consulted' - PRISMA Explanation and Elaboration, p. 5
Key organisations (selection only)
Organisations that could be valuable sources of grey literature, playing a role in producing, collecting, evaluating and/or making this more accessible:
Australian Government Department of Health
Federal Government Department site providing extensive health information and resources for the general public and health sector. Reports, government responses, procedures, strategies and more
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)
Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information
Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH)
Source of evidence focused on the 'optimal use of health technologies' such as drugs, diagnostic tests, devices and procedures. Access reports including rapid reviews and more
National Technical Reports Library (USA)
Search the largest central resource for finding US government funded information, including technical reports, conference proceedings, theses and more
SA Health (South Australia)
Primary site for the government organisation responsible for state health services and agencies. Provides access to policy, statistics, legislation, reports and more.
World Health Organization (WHO)
Primary site for the agency of the United Nations that works with Member States to achieve health outcomes. The website includes an extensive range of information including statistics, guidelines, reports, policy documents and more, and can be browsed by health topic and country