Skip to Main Content

Record and report

Recording your search

When planning a systematic review, your protocol should document all planned sources of information.

When searching, record what you do from the start. This is important to ensure that you can meet the requirements of reporting standards such as PRISMA, and so that your search is transparent and can be reproduced.

What to record

"Specify all databases, registers, websites, organisations, reference lists and other sources searched or consulted to identify studies. Specify the date when each source was last searched or consulted... Present the full search strategies for all databases, registers and websites, including any filters and limits used."   

-- PRISMA 2020 statement

"...save locally or file print copies of any information found on the internet, such as information about ongoing and/or unpublished trials, as this information may no longer be accessible at the time the review is written."   

-- Cochrane Handbook - 4.5 Documenting and reporting the search process

Keep track of how you search using a spreadsheet or table. You should include:

  • your search strategy;
  • search tools used;
  • websites searched;
  • dates they were searched; 
  • time frame covered.

FAQs

How do I manage and report numbers for 'other sources'?

Current guidance is unclear on how to manage and report all aspects of your 'other sources' search (i.e. sources and methods other than traditional literature database searching).

Key considerations:

  • be transparent about what you do, such that your approach can be understood and reproduced, and note any limitations
  • you will need to weigh principles of best practice (such as independent dual screening) against practical considerations

Potential barriers/issues:

  • you may not be able to 'batch export' records from a source (e.g. website or search engine search) into a reference manager to allow tracking and screening
  • the number of records and resources available may make manual creation of records in a reference manager unfeasible
  • accurate numbers of results for searches may be unclear or unavailable, making it impossible to report number of results identified

Decisions to make:

  • how will you 'bound' (limit) the search to ensure it is feasible? For example, you could establish pre-specified limits to your search (such as stating that the first x number of results/pages/issues will be screened))
  • will you record the source in the 'databases and registers' or 'other methods' section of the flow diagram? If a source has the features of a traditional literature database - such as advanced search, clear search results numbers, refining options, and batch export allowing you to easily track, report, export, and screen - you could report it in the 'databases' section, even if the material it includes is mostly 'grey' (e.g. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses; Web of Science Conference Proceedings Citation Index)
  • how will you report numbers in the flow diagram? The PRISMA 2020 flow diagram template has no provision for 'first pass' under 'Identification of new studies via other methods', implying that these studies are not part of the standard screening workflow. Rethlefsen et al. 2022, however, recommend reporting numbers of records 'identified' separate to numbers of reports assessed as 'eligible', where feasible. This distinction will ideally be clear in your flowchart or detailed in the supplementary material

For more see Record and report

Guidelines and standards

'Describe all intended information sources (such as electronic databases, contact with study authors, trial registers or other grey literature sources) with planned dates of coverage' - PRISMA-P (2015), p. 9

Reporting

Reporting what you do for both your standard literature database search and 'other methods' is important.