Finding Images Licensed for Reuse
Usage and Copyright
The University encourages use of images that are licenced for reuse: open, available under creative commons, or through one of our subscription databases. This page details the image collections subscribed to by the University of South Australia library.
Images used in teaching should be attributed; and its license complied with and clearly stated. For more information about attributions, the University’s educational licence and using images in teaching, consult:
Open Access Image collections
A range of Open Access image collections are freely available on the web. Consult our Open Educational Resource guide for a few key suggestions:
Subscribed Image Collections
- An@omedia (Anatomedia)
Over 5000 images, 70 videos, and 2000 slides covering dissections of real human bodies and clinical procedures. Also features quiz banks - Anatomy TV
20 modules featuring clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations - Artstor
Extensive resource of images for teaching and research in the arts, humanities and social sciences. - National geographic virtual library
Archive of National Geographic magazine, featuring every page and photograph, all fully searchable - Oxford Art Online
Over 19,000 images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures. Includes Grove Art Online and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists - Vogue Archive
Full archive of American Vogue, reproduced in high-resolution colour. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, enabling image discovery by garment type, designer and brand name
Finding Images via the Library Collection
Images can also be located through the Library collection. Search by keyword and then filter to Resource Type > Images on the left:
