Video Database Features
This table shows the features of UniSA's major video databases. Videos in these collections can be easily embedded into course sites to feature at 'point of need' or added to your eReserve reading lists.
Simply copying the browser URL into your course site will not work!
Instead, the 'Linking and embedding' boxes on this page provide instruction. To add items to eReserve, consult our dedicated guide.
|
Database Name
|
Activities | Streamed Video | Presentations Lectures \ |
News / TV |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alexander Street: Academic Video Online |
|
 |
|
|
| Alexander Street: Counseling & Therapy in Video | |
|||
| Anatomy TV | |
|||
| ClickView | |
|
|
|
| HSTalks : Business & management | |
|||
| IET.Tv | |
|||
| Informit: EduTV | |
|
||
| Informit: TVNews | |
|||
| JoVE: Journal of Visualised Experiments | |
|||
| Kanopy | |
|||
| LinkedIn Learning | |
|
TIP: Not sure which covers your subject area? Visit our database list, for each database by subject area.
Usage and Copyright
The AV collections on this page have been subscribed to by the University explicitly for use in teaching and learning. Use within lectures is permitted, as long as access is restricted to UniSA staff and students.
How you may use material from these resources in your course site depends upon the subscription licence terms. See "Linking & Embedding" under the relevant collection for any resource-specific advice that may apply.
Use other AV teaching materials? Our copyright pages can help:
Teaching with LinkedIn Learning
Discover LinkedIn Learning and how it can be used in your courses
In this video series, the LinkedIn Learning team shows how to use the tools and features of LinkedIn Learning to meet student learning needs and how to integrate digital resources into your classes and curriculum.
- LinkedIn Learning
Over 10,000 competency-based educational videos across all subjects, arranged into courses and accompanied by exercise files.
Spotlight: ClickView TV
Please note that ClickView has launched a new interface.
From the main menu select Movies + TV to browse new releases, documentaries, movies
- Select ClickView TV to view material shown on free-to-air Australian tv over the last 30 days, can browse by channels, programs and region
- Access the Exchange Archive which includes free-to-air materials that other Australian users have saved.
- ClickView - Full Teacher Guide (video: 9:06)Learn how to use ClickView's TV and Exchange features.
Linking and Embedding
- Alexander Street: Academic Video OnlineDocumentaries, interviews, films, performances and footage. Subjects: history, business, economics, education, media
- Alexander Street - Counseling and Therapy in Video2,500+ hours of footage from therapy sessions; training videos, and reenactments by counseling professionals
Linking and Embedding - Alexander Street : Academic video online and Counseling & Therapy in Video
Linking and Embedding
- Select the ‘Share’ button (1) beneath the video and copy the supplied URL or embed code (2) that appears at the bottom
Additional Features (Requires Free Account):
- Clips: Select the ‘Clip’ button at the top of the video and then Create Clip (2) and create and/or sign in to your individual account when prompted.
- When finished, select the three vertical dots icon next to the clip and select ‘Share’. Then, as above, copy either the URL or embed code that appears.
- Anatomy. TVFeatures functional anatomy animations and videos, with student activities and quizzes. Subjects: anatomy, health, nursing
Linking and Embedding - Anatomy TV
Linking & Embedding
- Click on the desired content
- Click on the embed cloud icon (1) on the left-hand side of the window and you will be presented with several options for embedding content:
This database requires cookies to be enabled for embedded content to display correctly. Instructions can be found here. It is therefore recommended to also include a link as a backup.
Below is an example of embedded content, notice the 'Text' and Diagrams' tabs in the top right:
Additional features:
- There are options for including text and product links in your embed link, along with changing the size of content and the style of embed link tailored to your specific embed location.
- ClickViewRecordings from TV broadcasts, and almost 4,000 original videos. Subjects: natural resources, arts & recreation, business, health, manufacturing, engineering, foundation skills
Linking and Embedding - ClickView
Linking & Embedding
- Select the ‘Share’ button (1) under the video and copy the supplied URL or click on 'Get embed code' that appears.
- Note: linking/embedding points to the first ‘chapter’ of the video by default.
Additional features
- Interactive video: select the elipses button next to the share option (2) under the video and follow the prompts
- Clips: Select the ‘create clips option and follow the prompts
- HSTalks : the business and management collectionLectures and case studies from professionals and academics. Subjects: Business, finance, economics, management, marketing, leadership
Linking and Embedding - HS Talks
Linking & Embedding
- Select Embed in Course/Own notes (1)
- Choose either 'Embed as Link' (2) and copy the URL from the preview or select 'Embed as Video 2a. Copy and Paste the HTML code provided.
- Tip: There is an option to alter video size and to choose segment of the video at the bottom of the box (3).
- For detailed instructions view the document: How to embed an HS talks lecture
- The videos may also include slides, printable handouts and reflective questions. These options are located to the right of the video
Additional Features:
- IET.tvPresentations, lectures and training from Institute of Engineering and Technology (IET) Subjects: engineering, technology, IT
Linking and Embedding - IET.tv
Linking & Embedding
- Select either the embed or share link located to right of video (1).
- Copy the supplied iframe or share link (2)
- Some videos include Transcripts as PDFs.
- Sign up to a free personal account to access additional features including ability to create clips of videos and playlists.
Additional Features:
- Informit: TVNewsNews, current affairs and selected documentaries aired on Australian free-to-air - content from 2007+
- Informit: EduTVDocumentaries and TV. Subjects: business, economics, health, history, indigenous studies, law, media, technology
Linking and Embedding - Informit
Linking & Embedding
- Open the 'Tools menu above the video and select 'Embed' to copy the embed script to your clipboard for use (1)
Note:Individual users’ browser configurations (privacy/cookies etc) may prevent embedded content from displaying. It is therefore recommended to also include a link:
- Copy the URL that appears in the browser navigation bar
- Add the following prefix: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/unisa.edu.au?url=
Additional Features:
- 'Create clip; (Requires individual user registration).
- JoVE Journal of Visualised Experiments15,000+ videos of laboratory methods, science education, health
Linking and Embedding - JoVE Journal of Visualised Experiments
Linking & Embedding
- Select the ‘Embed’ button (1) at the bottom of the video. A new page will load with an embed code and link. Copy the one you require
- Note: Embed codes will only function if created from an Instructor account- Create an account or sign in at the top right (2) and set your role first
- LinkedIn LearningOver 5000 videos arranged into courses and accompanied by exercise files. Subjects include: time management and study skills, communication and presentation skills, health and wellbeing, specific software training
Linking and Embedding - LinkedIn Learning
Linking & Embedding
For instructions for how to create a LinkedIn Learning Activity please click here
- KanopyVideo from Madman, Paramount, Universal, ABC and BBC. Subjects: arts, business, health, media, sciences, teaching
Linking and Embedding - Kanopy
Linking & Embedding
- First create a personal log in and sign in (1). Then access the video you would like to link/embed. In the video window, click the ‘Share’ button (2) and then copy the Link or Embed code
Additional features
- 'create clip' feature
Additional Video Databases
The following collections vary in embedding and linking functions. Contact the Library for assistance using these in teaching.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education
Software demos, lectures and presentations. Subjects: IT, project management, business, aviation, engineering - Story Box Library
Australian children's literature read by Australian storytellers. - IGI's Database Search
Video lectures about information technology as applied to a range of industries. Subjects: IT, engineering, health - United Nations audiovisual library of international law
Lecture series on international law by leading international law scholars from different legal systems and sectors - SAGE Campus
Supports the teaching and learning of skills and research method. Subjects include research skills, research methods, data literacy, data science - SAGE Video : Criminology and Criminal Justice
Includes video case studies, films and tutorials of criminal investigation processes. Subjects: Law, criminology, justice - SAGE Video: Media, Communication & Cultural StudiesOver 500 videos offering academic and real-life insights into Communication and Media Studies practices.
- SAGE Video : PsychologyFootage of psychologists: forensics inside a prison, clinical psychologists treating patients; and early experiments.