Find information
Where to search
Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to search. The following video (2 min 14 sec) will help you to understand why and when to use different search tools.
Key points from the video
- Different search tools cover different collections of resources
- The Library Collection is a good place to search for scholarly material
- The Library Collection provides free access to a variety of resources types across a range of subject areas
- Databases help focus your search and have more advanced searching options
- Google Scholar provides access to a wide range of resources, but not all of it is scholarly
- Use the Google Scholar link from the Library website for best access to full-text references
- Search multiple places to save time and find better results
- All resources need to be evaluated before using them
The Library Collection
The Library Collection is a good place to start your search for scholarly content. You can use it to find eBooks, journal articles, reports, videos and more.
Using the "Refine my results" menu, you can refine your search to find exactly what you need.
Want to know more?
- Watch this short video (1 min 48 sec) about searching the Collection
- Test your knowledge with the following interactive tutorial:
Key databases
Databases are online collections of resources including articles, papers, book chapters and reports. Databases have advanced search options, helping to focus your search and find more relevant, scholarly references quickly.
Sport and Recreation Management databases
Want to know more?
- How to save time searching databasesPDF (301 KB)
Using Harvard Business Review
It is recommended to access the Harvard Business Review journal through the Business Source Ultimate database.
To search for articles on specific topics within the journal, click the 'Search within this publication' link and on the search page, then enter the title or keywords starting from the second row.
Note: Leave the first row as it is to keep the search within the Harvard Business Review journal.
Searching Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic and scholarly websites.
Searching Google Scholar via the Library website activates a "Full-text at UniSA" link - this gives you direct access to Library-subscribed content.
Want to know more?
Test your knowledge with the following interactive tutorial:
For advanced Google Scholar tips visit the Web searching page in the Library's Grey Literature and Other Sources guide.
LibKey Nomad
- LibKey Nomad™LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that will help you access Library books and journal articles directly from websites, speeding up your research and avoiding paywalls.
With the Nomad extension activated, you can access direct links to eBooks, online articles and PDFs on websites such as PubMed, publisher websites, and Wikipedia using the following icon:
Benefits include:
- Ability to access relevant Library content conveniently and instantly via the open web
- Completely anonymous – no user data is shared with or by LibKey
- Simple browser extension that can be set up in seconds without training
Download and installation help
- Get LibKey NomadDownload LibKey Nomad from this web page.
- LibKey Nomad - UniSA Library - Video (2 min 11 sec)Watch this video for help with installation.
Find more information
Find company and industry information
- Company and Industry Information GuideThis guide will help you search the web and our databases to find company and industry information, financial information, annual reports and country information.
Find case studies
This short video (4 min 7 sec) introduces you to case studies - what they are and how they're used.
- Where to find business case studies - PDF (184 KB)List of recommended databases containing case studies.
- Emerald Insight: Emerging Markets Case Studies - DatabaseA growing collection of over 1,000 case studies and accompanying teaching notes with a unique focus on rising economies.
- Sage Business Cases - DatabaseA discipline-wide collection of global business cases from a variety of industries. Includes teaching notes.
Find news media
- News Media GuideThis guide provides help searching and evaluating a wide range of Australian and International news media including newspapers, television, radio and media releases.
- NewsBank, Inc.This news database consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles and other publications. It helps to pinpoint information from primary sources at the local, state, regional, national and international levels.
- More news databasesNews databases the Library subscribes to.
Find statistics
A huge range of statistical resources can be found on the Library's Company and Industry Information Guide (see link to the guide above), or try the following key databases:
- Australian Bureau of StatisticsThe Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) is Australia's national statistical agency. The ABS provides key statistics on a wide range of economic, environmental and social issues, to assist and encourage informed decision making, research and discussion within governments and the community.
- StatistaProvides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources across 170 industries and 150+ countries.
- OECD dataFind, compare and share the latest Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development data: charts, maps, tables and related publications, giving the latest statistics on OECD member countries.
Find videos
Access to a wide range of video content through a number of key video databases, including:
- LinkedIn LearningAn online library of high-quality instructional videos on life skills and the latest software tools, with more than 10,000 courses covering business, design, computing, photography, video, animation and more.
- HSTalksProvides access to world class lectures and case studies by leading experts from commerce, industry, the professions and academia. This collection of specially prepared animated audio visual presentations with synchronized narration is regularly updated and growing with over 900 talks.
Find skills modules
- Sage Skills: BusinessLearn business and professional skills with these modules on data analytics, entrepreneurship, leadership, organisational communication, and professionalism. Modules are presented as readings, videos and scenarios and include self assessment questions. Click on the Sage Skills: Business link under View Online to access.
Select appropriate references
While you are finding references, you need to think about whether they are appropriate to use in your assignment. You may be asked to use scholarly or peer-reviewed material to support your arguments.
You should evaluate all resources before including them in your assignment - even if you found them through the Library Collection or databases.