Welcome HBKU students
Welcome to the UniSA Library
This page has been created to help you build your search skills and find resources
Plan your search
Before you start your search it is important to make a plan:
Read: Plan your search PDF (276 KB)
Watch: Study Help: Plan your search Video (2 min 26 sec)
Now it is time to explore keywords, alternative keywords and connecting words. Follow the steps below and test your skills:
Step 1. Keywords
Think about the keywords or concepts in your question or topic. Carefully read the example question below, can you identify the keywords/concepts?
How does social media influence body image in teenagers?
Step 2. Alternative keywords
Once you have keywords, think about alternative words for your keywords that you can also use in your searching. In the activity below match the alternative words with the keywords:
Step 3. Connect your words
Now that you have your keywords and alternative keywords, you will need to connect these to put your search together.
- use OR to combine similar keywords
- use AND to combine different keywords
- use "quotation marks" to keep phrases together
- use brackets to keep alternative words together
For example:
"social media" AND "body image"
"body image" AND (teenager OR youth)
- How to save time searching databases with truncation, wildcards and phrases (PDF 232 KB)Use this resource to learn about searching in databases.
Subject guides
Our subject guides are engaging, easy to use and full of recommended resources for your topic. Guides include Business, Management, Company and Industry Information plus many more
Where to search
The Library Collection is a good place to start your search for scholarly material:
Watch this video (1 min 45 sec) on How to search the Library collection
Key Sport and Recreation Management databases
- Business Source UltimateCovers all areas of business including management, marketing and finance
- SPORTDiscusComprehensive bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines
- APAFT - Australian Public Affairs Full TextCovers Australia's political, economic and social affairs
For more on where to search see the Find Information tab
Evaluating resources
It is important to always evaluate resources:
Read this article to learn about scholarly sources: Find Scholarly Sources (PDF 272 KB)
Watch this video (3 min 17 sec) to understand how to evaluate the information you find: Study Help: Evaluating Information
Useful information
- ReferencingReferencing your resources is important. The Referencing page has resources on how to reference and where you can get more help.
- Study HelpStudy Help is an online Hub packed with useful assignment and study tips and tools
Ask the Library
Need help? You can contact us through chat, phone or email using our Ask the Library Service:
Mon-Fri: 6:00am-9.30pm - HKT (UTC+8)
Sat-Sun: 7.30am -3:30pm - HKT (UTC+8)
International phone number: +61 8302 6231