Find information
Where to search
Choosing which search tools to use to find information and when to use them is important to find relevant results.
Video length: 2 min 31 sec
Key points from the video
- Different search tools cover different collections of resources
- Search multiple places to save time and find better results
- All resources need to be evaluated before using them
More help
Search using the Library Collection
The Library Collection is a good place to start your search. Books can be useful for getting background or an overview of your topic.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic or scholarly sites, rather than the whole internet. Access from the Library homepage to see the 'Full text at UniSA' option.
More help
Search using databases
Databases are online collections of resources including articles, papers, book chapters and reports.
Some key databases
- AccessEngineeringCovers aerospace, chemical, civil, computer, electrical, energy, industrial, material engineering and more. Includes videos demonstrating engineering solutions.
- KnovelIncludes chemistry and chemical engineering, plastics and rubbers, semiconductors, advanced materials, and safety, health and hygiene.
- IEEEXploreFull-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings, and all current IEEE standards.
- ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace CollectionFind the most comprehensive bibliographic coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices and space sciences.
More help
How to search databases
It is recommended that you also search for relevant academic (scholarly) literature using Library databases.
Depending on your research question you may not need to search on every concept.
CAPA: Centre for Aviation example
This database is part of the Aviation Week Network and provides access to news briefs, analysis reports, research publications and company profiles.
Search example:
- There is no advanced search, so try a simple search using the basic search using some of your keywords.
- Select search.
- Use the all content drop down menu to limit your search by format type.
IBISWorld example
This database is useful for finding Australian and international aviation industry reports.
Search example:
- Start with a broad search of the industry area.
- Limit by type of report (Industry) and location (Australia etc.).
- Select a relevant report. Navigate using the left Navigation bar.
ProQuest Technology Collection example
This collection includes the Advanced Technology & Aerospace and Materials Science & Engineering Databases
Search example:
- Choose the option to search Anywhere except full text.
- Start by typing each different concept into a new search field. Connect with AND.
- Add any synonyms or alternative keyword to broaden your search scope. Connect these with OR.
- Use the * symbol to find word plurals and stems. This is known as truncation.
- Select search. Use the left menu to limit your search further.
Tip: Use double quotes to search for exact phrases.
Find additional resources
Grey literature
'Information produced on all levels of government, academia, business and industry in electronic and print formats not controlled by commercial publishing' - 1997 International Conference on Grey Literature, Luxembourg - definition expanded in New York, 2004
Why search for grey literature?
- introduces alternative perspectives
- minimises reporting bias
- can be essential in changing research areas
- contains more local information
More information on grey literature
Some key grey literature portals
News media
The Library's News Media Guide provides help searching and evaluating newspapers, television, radio and media releases.
Industry Sources
Journals
Choose which references to use
As you find references, think about whether they are appropriate to use in your assignment. Evaluate all resources before including them, even if you found them through the Library Collection or Databases.
Video length: 3 min 17 sec
How to evaluate resources
| CRAAP | Questions to ask |
|---|---|
| Currency | How current does the information need to be? Do you need to use information published in the last five years or are older, seminal works fine to use? |
| Relevance | Does the information found answer your question? Do you understand the content and is it at the right level for your purpose? |
| Authority | What are the author's qualifications? Are they linked to a particular organisation such as a university, research institute or government department? |
| Accuracy | Is evidence given for the research undertaken? Can you verify the information presented by using other sources? Is there a bibliography or references given? |
| Purpose | Is it trying to communicate research, persuade you or sell you something? Is it expressing an opinion, or is it balanced and objective? |