Human factors
Terminology
Before searching you need to understand your task including types of information needed. For help use:
Creating a search strategy
To search effectively you need a sound understanding of how authors express ideas across the literature. Take time to map out potential keywords to search on for each of your key concepts.
Consider |
Examples |
| Synonyms or alternative keywords |
|
| Related or broader keywords |
|
| If keywords could be plurals, have different forms and spellings |
|
| Proper names |
|
To build your keyword knowledge draw on terminology used in your course website and do some basic scoping searching using a search engine or Library Collection search.
Connecting concepts to build your search strategy
To learn how to create a search strategy using the keywords you have found, work your way through:
How to search
The Library collection can be a good place to start searching for literature.
Example search: How pilots can effectively communicate with air traffic controllers?
- Start by typing each different key concept (keyword) into the search box.
- To focus your search further add in another key concept
Use double quotes to search for exact phrases e.g. "air traffic controller".
Also use the Refine your results right menu to further limit your search e.g. date range, resource type etc.
Using the Advanced search
To create a more structured search strategy use the Advanced search screen.
Key databases
Searching key psychology and health databases can be a useful source of published human factors literature.
Key starters
Also search key aviation and engineering databases like ProQuest Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Collection and Access Engineering. Access these and more here:
Finding industry literature and data
Industry literature and data (reports, media, government documents, and statistics) can be an excellent source of the latest evidence. UniSA subscribes to two key databases which are good starting points:
More Australian industry sources
- Analysis and Policy Observatory (APO)Find Australian and New Zealand industry literature and policy documents.
More international industry sources
CAPA provides a data portal, CAPA Data Centre, which allows you to access all CAPA data, including traffic, financials and other performance data for companies within the aviation and travel industry.
You can also search for the latest industry information using the search box on the homepage, or browse under Analysis.
- IBISWorldIBISWorld provides industry, company, business environment and risk rating reports, for Australia, other countries like the US and China, and globally.
To search for industry information:
- browse Industries (top of homepage)
- search broadly using keywords like Aviation, Airlines, Aircraft, Tourism etc. and from the results page limit by Country and Report.
Key journals
- Aeronautical JournalUK's leading scientific and technical aeronautics journal with research papers on all aspects of research, design and development, construction and operation of aircraft and space vehicles.
- AerospaceA peer-reviewed, open access journal of aeronautics and astronautics.
- Aerospace Medicine and Human PerformanceScientific articles on areas such as changes in ambient pressure, motion sickness, gravitational forces, thermal stresses, vision, fatigue, circadian rhythms, psychological stress, artificial environments, human factors engineering, clinical care, and others.
- Aircraft Engineering and Aerospace TechnologyProvides a broad coverage of the materials and techniques employed in the aircraft and aerospace industry.
- ErgonomicsAn international journal that draws upon human biology, psychology, engineering and design to optimise system performance, whilst protecting the health, safety and well-being of individuals involved.
- Human FactorsScientific articles in human factors/ergonomics that present theoretical and practical advances concerning the relationship between people and technologies, tools, environments, and systems.
- International Journal of Aerospace PsychologyPublishes scholarly papers on the development and management of safe, effective aerospace systems from the standpoint of the human operators and occupants.
- Journal of Air Transport ManagementCovers all the major sectors of the industry (airlines, airports, air traffic management) as well as related areas such as tourism management and logistics.
- Safety ScienceA multidisciplinary journal that covers the physics and engineering of safety.