What you need to do
| Please refer to your Course Outline and LearnOnline site for full assessment information. |
Planning your search
Planning your search is key to getting the most out of your search results. The following generic video will help you get started.
Video Length: (2 min 26 sec)
Step 1: Identify the main concepts in your research question.
| Assignment questions typically consist of numerous subtopics, making it difficult to research all of them simultaneously. A best practice is to break down the question into manageable subtopics and conduct individual searches for each one. |
We have created an example assignment topic below to demonstrate how to identify concepts in your research question.
|
Discuss the significance of using reflective practice as an approach to enhance Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander wellbeing. |
The main concepts:
- Reflective practice
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander
- wellbeing
Step 2: List alternative terms for each concept
| Key concepts | Alternative terms |
|
Reflective practice |
Reflectivity, Self-reflection, Introspection, self-analysis, introspection, self-examination, self-questioning, self-scrutiny |
| Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander | Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander, First Nations, First Peoples, First Australians |
| Health and wellbeing |
well-being, quality of life, life quality, hrqol |
Step 3: Connect terms together using AND and OR to form a search
Once you have identified your keywords and found alternative keywords, you need to connect these to put your search together.
Use the following connectors below to indicate how you want the tool to search for your keywords:
- OR: Combines similar keywords
- AND: Combines different keywords
Remember to use "quotation marks" to keep phrases together.
Find below an example search using the terms listed in the table above.
|
("Reflective practice" OR reflectivity OR introspection) AND (Aboriginal OR "Torres Strait Islander") AND (Wellbeing OR well-being) |
Searching
|
Library Collection
Here is a search from the Library Collection using the example search strategy in the above table.
|
("Reflective practice" OR reflectivity OR introspection) AND (Aboriginal OR "Torres Strait Islander") AND (Wellbeing OR well-being) |
Google Scholar
As Google Scholar will usually locate many results you can incorporate another concepts to the search strategy by using the connector AND to focus on your search.
|
(Reflectivity OR Reflective practice OR Self-reflection OR self-analysis OR introspection OR self-examination OR self-questioning OR self-scrutiny OR Introspection) AND (Aboriginal OR “Torres Strait Islander” OR “First Nations” OR “First Peoples” OR “First Australians”) AND (Wellbeing OR well-being OR "quality of life" OR "life quality" OR hrqol) |
Indigenous Collection
The Informit Indigenous Collection is a database that provides content on historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies.
|
Reflectivity OR Self-reflection OR self-analysis OR introspection OR self-examination OR self-questioning OR self-scrutiny OR Introspection AND Aboriginal OR “Torres Strait Islander” OR “First Nations” OR “First Peoples” OR “First Australians” AND wellbeing OR well-being OR "quality of life" OR "life quality" OR hrqol |
Aboriginal health & emotional wellbeing
- The social and emotional wellbeing of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander childrenA report which outlines the development of resources to support service providers working with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander infants, children and family.
- Indigenous Health and wellbeingFrom the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, this page highlights some of the key issues in Indigenous health and includes links to more detailed information.
- Social & emotional wellbeingFrom the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, this page discusses the topic of social and emotional wellbeing for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander (First Nations) people. It takes a holistic view of health as it recognises that connection to land, sea, culture and spirituality all influence wellbeing. Social, historical and political factors can also affect wellbeing.
- Working alongside Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisations to support Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander social and emotional wellbeingA variety of resources designed to support non-Indigenous practitioners who work with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children, parents and families. While it is suitable for all practitioners, it may be especially helpful in building the cultural competency of psychologists and other mental health professionals.
Reflective writing
Your journal entry should include a reflective element. If you're not familiar with reflective writing, the video and resources below may assist you to understand what is required (video length: 2 min 15 sec).
- Reflective writing helps you to look back over your learning experiences.
- It shows how your knowledge, skills and attitudes are developing.
- Reflective writing involves more than just describing your learning and development.
- It's important to evaluate and analyse your learning to show a deeper level of reflection.
- This can include what, why, and how you are learning, any changes you would like to make, and gaps in your understanding.
- You may need to link your reflections to your course readings and theories, and consider how these reflections can help you develop as a professional.
- The layout of reflective writing can vary - always check your task instructions and feedback form for specific details.
- You can use more personal language in your reflective writing, however it is still a formal assignment and may require you to reference key theories or ideas in an academic style.
- Reflective writing is not a linear process. It involves adding, changing, rethinking, refining, restructuring your ideas.
- Writing a reflective essayLearn about the different elements required in a reflective essay and how to structure it.
- What is a reflective assignment?Understand what a reflective assignment is, what its purpose is and what it looks like.
- Writing a reflection on a placement experienceUnderstand what the style and content of a reflection based placement looks like.
How to Write a Case Study
- Case StudiesThis page features an overview of what a case study is, your lecturer’s expectations, the structure, and how to plan and write an essay, with examples from various disciplines.
- Case studiesThis page is dedicated to writing case studies. Case study assignments are common in some disciplines. Their main purpose is to show that you can relate theory to real-life situations. You also need to be able to recommend practical solutions to real-life problems.
- What is a case study?Understand what a case study is, its purpose and what it looks like.
- Writing a case study analysisReview nine steps to writing a detailed and critical case study analysis, as well as Identify the key information you should include in your assignment.
- Experience of writing a case study analysisCompare your own writing against the work of experts which can be a great opportunity for learning.
Example Case Studies
- The Royal Australasian College of PhysiciansCase studies demonstrate successful Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander access to specialist care across Australia in various health settings. Stakeholders are encouraged to consider how the case studies can inform their own service and practice.
- MenziesWe are one of Australia's leading medical research institutes dedicated to improving the health and wellbeing of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. We are also a leader in global and tropical health research into life-threatening diseases. Through effective partnerships with communities across northern Australia and the Asia-Pacific region, we aim to translate our research into real change.
APA Referencing Style
- Referencing WebpageReferencing is an important aspect of your academic practice at university and this website provides a suite of resources to help you understand and develop your skills in this area. This website uses referencing examples in APA style. You can also find information about other referencing styles in the Referencing styles guides section on this site.