Lowitja O'Donoghue Collection
Explore the Collection
The Lowitja O'Donoghue Collection is housed in the Jeffrey Smart Building at the City West Campus of the University of South Australia.
Discover the Collection through searching the Special Collection Catalogue or browsing Collection Discovery.
Digital copies of some items are available from the Catalogue, however physical material is not available for loan.
Access to the Collection is by appointment, contact Ask the Library.
Collection Overview
The Lowitja O'Donoghue Collection includes books, documents and reports relating to Aboriginal culture, hertiage, advocacy and rights, memorabilia from the Sydney 2000 Olympics, along with books, awards, correspondence and memorabilia including honorary doctorate gowns and hats.
Biography
Professor Lowitja (Lois) O'Donoghue is a member of the Yankunjatjara people of northwest South Australia. Throughout her life she has been an advocate for Indigenous rights and has worked for improving the health and welfare of Indigenous Australians. In 1962 O'Donoghue took on a role with the State Government as an Aboriginal Liaison Officer and later became a Welfare Officer. In 1967 she moved into the Commonwealth Department of Aboriginal Affairs where she became the Director in 1975, making her the first Indigenous person to be in charge of an Australian government department.
In 1990 O'Donoghue was appointed as the inaugural chairperson of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission (ATSIC). In 1992 she was the first Indigenous Australian to address the United Nations General Assembly during the launch of the United Nations International Year of Indigenous Peoples.
In 1976 she was the first Indigenous woman to be inducted into the Order of Australia. In 1984 she was awarded Australian of the Year in recognition of her work to improve Indigenous welfare. She was inducted into the Olympic Order in 2000. In 2005 she received a Papal Award, Dame of the Order of St Gregory the Great.
O'Donoghue has received seven honorary doctorates and fellowships from various Australian educational institutions.
O'Donoghue is currently a patron of The Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Centre and The Lowitja Institute, which is named in her honour.
In the Library Collection
- The Lowitja O'Donoghue orations: 2007-2019Publication Date: 2020To celebrate 13 years of the Lowitja O’Donoghue Oration, this ebook includes powerful speeches from previous years events. The 13 orators include: Lowitja O’Donoghue, Tim Costello, Jackie Huggins, Fred Chaney, Ray Martin, Paul Keating, Michael Kirby, Olga Havnen, Patrick Dodson, Marcia Langton, Lynn Arnold, Frank Brennan, Noel Pearson, David Rathman.
Videos
Further info
National Library of Australia
State Library of South Australia
National Film and Sound Archive
The Australian Womens Register
The Lowitja Institute
Australia's National Institute for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Research
Wikipedia