Introduction to our Special Collections

The Library has a diverse range of Special Collections. These Collections contribute to a rich political, social and public health history of Australia, with a particular focus on South Australia.

They include the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander collection, the Art collection, and collections which support areas of interest to UniSA’s students, staff, researchers and the general public.

These collections contain rare, fragile, archival and culturally sensitive material and are housed in the Jeffrey Smart Building on the UniSA City West Campus.

Special Collections items are available for in-library use only, with the exception of the University Publications Collection which can be borrowed for a 28 day period.  Details about Collection items can be accessed by searching the Special Collections Catalogue or contacting Ask the Library.

For further information, please explore the Collections by selecting the relevant tile below.

Discover our Collections

Details of the contents of the Special Collections can be searched using the search box below or by visiting the Special Collections Catalogue.

Collection items can also be browsed within Collection Discovery.

To search across the collections, type in keywords relating to the Collection of interest.

Results can be refined using the 'Tweak my results' menu on the left hand side, for example by date range, collection, or subject. To view material that has been digitised, use the filter for Full Text Online.

To access to items of interest, please record the title, collection and call number and contact Ask the Library.