The History of Primary Education in South Australia Collection was created to facilitate research in South Australian educational history.

The Collection has over 8000 items used to teach in South Australian Primary Schools throughout the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries. The core of the Collection consists of textbooks, readers, audiovisual, kit resources and curriculum documents along with a small sample of teachers' lesson plans, school roll books and students' copy books. Non-fiction material published in or about South Australia and developed for primary education and with educational research significance also forms part of the Collection. Some collection material is fragile and rare and access is at the discretion of the Special Collections Coordinator.

The Collection was started in 1972 by academic and library staff at the Wattle Park Teachers' College, a predecessor institution of the University of South Australia.

• A history of early childhood education in South Australia is a timeline of the history of early childhood education in South Australia spanning pre colonization to the present day, published by the University of South Australia

Location: Offsite Warehouse

Access: Available to UniSA staff and students

Community Access:  contact Ask the Library

Loan: 4 weeks with no renewals

Explore the Collection through the Special Collections Catalogue.

Request an item by placing a hold and then it will be retrieved from the repository and sent to the nominated campus (expected retrieval time is 48 hours).