Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Library
 |
The Bob Hawke Collection commemorates the achievements and legacy of the Hon Robert (Bob) James Lee Hawke (1929-2019), Australia's second longest serving Prime Minister and longest serving Labor Prime Minister. The Collection documents Mr Hawke's career, from ACTU Research Officer and ACTU President to his election as the Member for Wills, and his career and business interests following his resignation from Parliament. Some personal papers are included. While the Collection does include some materials that date from Mr Hawke's terms as Prime Minister of Australia, most records relating to that period of his career can be found at the National Archives of Australia. The Collection includes correspondence, papers, speeches, photographs, campaign material, books, audio visual material, gifts and memorabilia.
|
|
The Collection can be explored through searching the Special Collections Catalogue or browsing Collection Discovery. Digital copies of some items may be available from the Catalogue. The Collection is housed in the Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Library at the University of South Australia City West Campus. Archival material is not available for loan with access by appointment only. To arrange an appointment contact Ask the Library . Image above: Robert Hannaford. Hon RJL Hawke AC Prime Minister of Australia, oil on canvas, Adelaide 2000. |
|
A journey through the archive
The Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Library (BHPML), as part of the University of South Australia Library and The Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Centre presented a public talk and exhibition as part of the 2019 South Australia History Festival. The talk can be viewed in full in the video above.
Online exhibition - Bob Hawke: a pictorial history
From the archive
The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL delivering a passionate speech.
Extract from Birth Entry, Robert James Lee Hawke, December 9th 1929.
The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL planing a tree in Wentworth, NSW on March 12th 1989.
The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL pictured with Mr Len Keogh, Member for Bowman, during the ALP Election Campaign 1984.
The Hon Julia Gillard AC with The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL, 2017 Annual Hawke Lecture, presented by The Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Centre, Photographer: Tony Lewis
The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL pictured with the Hon Gough Whitlam AC QC at the official opening of the Hawke Building, 2007.
The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL pictured with Mr Len Keogh, Member for Bowman, alongside a collection of children's drawings given to Bob Hawke.
The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL pictured with Nelson Mandela, October 1990.
Premier of South Australia, John Bannon, recieves a cheque from The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL.
The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL pictured with American President Ronald Regan at the White House in 1985.
The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL addressing a crowd after leading the Labour Day procession in Adelaide on October 11th 1980.
The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL seated on a replica of his beloved motorcycle.
The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL speaking at the official opening of the Hawke Building, 2007.
A 1999 Christmas card from Queen Elizabeth II & Prince Philip to The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL.
'Hawke Soars' The Bulletin, March 15th 1983 with election campaign memorabilia.
The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL pictured with Mr Bill Neidjie & friend, traditional custodians of the Kakadu area.
The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL playing cricket during a visit to the electorate of Burke.
The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL playing tennis at The Lodge in 1986 alongside Australian sporting memorabilia.
The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL Bob Hawke pictured with Dr. Kevin Threlfall, Geelong FC President.
The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL & wife Hazel pictured with American President George Bush & First Lady Barbara Bush.
The Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL pictured with Premier John Cain at the Australia Games announcement.
Explore the Bob Hawke Collection
The Bob Hawke Collection has over a thousand digitized transcripts of speeches given by the Hon Bob Hawke across his career - before, during and after his time in Government. Most were given in his capacity as Prime Minister covering Hawke government activities and achievements as well as commemorating significant events occurring during his time in office.
- ACTU speeches and correspondence (RH5)
- Pre Prime Ministerial speeches (RH26)
- Prime Ministerial domestic speeches (RH20)
- Professor John Wood Prime Ministerial speeches (RH28)
- Prime Ministerial international speeches (RH21)
- Post Prime Ministerial speeches (RH22)
Notable speeches in the Collection include:
- Opening of New Parliament House in 1988
-
Bicentenary events including the Closing Ceremony of the Bicentenary given at the 15th National Australian Scout Jamboree where he closed by saying:
So as our Bicentenary now comes to a close, I give you, our young people, this challenge : look into our past and see what we have done well and what we have done less well; look at our present and see what is good and what needs to be changed; then look to the future and ask yourself what contribution you can make to building an even better Australia.
- His speech at the Memorial Ceremony for those killed in China at the Tiananmen Square Massacre in 1989
-
The speech he gave at the Barunga Sports and Cultural Festival in June 1988. This festival was where Mr Hawke was presented with the Barunga Statement by Glarrwuy Yunupingu and Wenten Rubuntja. His last act as Prime Minister was the hanging of the Barunga Statement in Parliament House
-
Speeches given at the Gallipoli Dawn Service and the Lone Pine Ceremony during his visit to Turkey to commemorate the 75th Anniversary of Gallipoli in 1990
R.J.L. Hawke's correspondence files document a period of Australian history that saw significant changes to the economy, social welfare, industrial relations, international relations and community values and provides insight into the impact that Mr Hawke had on Australian society. The content of correspondence will depend upon whether he was focusing on his union, political, business, media, charity, or scholarly careers.
Correspondence can also be found in subject files series and series relating to particular subjects. If you are looking for correspondence relating to a specific subject, it is recommended that you also review box lists for subject files series, series specific to relevant subjects, and miscellaneous files series. See the Special Collections Catalogue for more.
- Bob Hawke Collection Correspondence Files GuidePDF version of this guide. Includes series descriptions.
Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU) President September 1969 – September 1980
After working as ACTU Research Officer and Advocate since 1957, R.J.L. Hawke was elected President of the ACTU at the 1969 ACTU Congress and was President until September 1980.
Correspondence created while Mr Hawke was ACTU President includes:
| RH57 | Correspondence received - R.J.L. Hawke, President, Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU) | 1969 - 1980 |
| RH58 | Correspondence and other papers with the International Confederation of Free Trade Unions (ICFTU), International Labour Office (ILO), and international unions - R.J.L. Hawke, President, Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU) | 1970 - 1980 |
| RH75** | Letters received after significant career events - R.J.L. Hawke | 1978 - 1982 |
| RH1 | ITU business & correspondence (previously M2249) |
1970 - 1980 |
| RH13 | ACTU correspondence (previously M2265) |
1970 - 1980 |
Member for Wills, pre-Prime Minister, October 1980 – March 1983
R.J.L. Hawke announced his intention to enter politics and campaigned for the Australian Labor Party in the 1980 Federal election. On 18 October 1980 Mr Hawke was elected to the House of Representatives as the Member for Wills in Victoria. After the resignation of Bill Hayden, on 8 February 1983 Mr Hawke was elected Leader of the Opposition.
Correspondence created while Mr Hawke was Member for Wills but before he became Prime Minister includes:
| RH73 | Personal correspondence received, arranged chronologically – Member for Wills | 1980 - 1983 |
| RH74 | Personal correspondence received, arranged by subject – Member for Wills | 1980 - 1982 |
| RH75** | Letters received after significant career events - R.J.L. Hawke | 1978 - 1982 |
| RH116 | Australian Labor Party (ALP) correspondence received, arranged chronologically - Member for Wills | 1981 - 1982 |
Prime Minister of Australia, March 1983 – December 1991
R.J.L. Hawke led the Australian Labor Party to a landslide victory in the 1983 Federal election and became Prime Minister of Australia on 11 March 1983. Mr Hawke subsequently led the Australian Labor Party to victory in the 1984, 1987, and 1990 Federal elections, making him the longest serving Labor Prime Minister of Australia.
Correspondence created while Mr Hawke was Prime Minister of Australia includes:
| RH71 | Copies of letters of thanks sent to international dignitaries after overseas visits - R.J.L. Hawke, Prime Minister of Australia | 1983 - 1991 |
| RH80 | Miscellaneous correspondence received - R.J.L. Hawke, Prime Minister of Australia | 1983 - 1991 |
| RH14 | Personal and Family matters (previously M3826, partial transfer to UniSA) |
c.1950 - 1990 |
| RH16 | Election campaign records and congratulatory messages (previously M3830, partial transfer to UniSA) |
c.1980 - 1990 |
| NAA CRS M3596 | Correspondence to and from the Prime Minister and his Parliamentary Office | 1982 -1991 |
| NAA CRS M3601 | Correspondence and congratulatory telegrams maintained by the office of the Prime Minister | 1984 - 1991 |
| NAA CRS M3826 | Correspondence maintained in the Office of the Prime Minister relating to family/personal matters (partial transfer to UniSA - RH14) |
1980 - 1991 |
| NAA CRS M3830 | Election campaign records and congratulatory messages (partial transfer to UniSA - RH16) |
1980 - 1990 |
| NAA CRS M3843 | Electorate correspondence, single number series | 1980 - 1991 |
| NAA CRS M3845 | Thank you letters and requests for autographs etc | 1983 - 1990 |
| NAA CRS M3854 | Unanswered correspondence | 1977 - 1990 |
| NAA CRS M5064 | Non-constituent correspondence | 1980 - 1991 |
Member for Wills, post-Prime Minister, December 1991 – February 1992
After losing a second leadership challenge from Paul Keating, R.J.L. Hawke tendered his resignation as Prime Minister on 20 December 1991. He resigned from Parliament two months later on 20 February 1992.
Correspondence created while Mr Hawke was still Member for Wills but after he lost the Prime Ministership includes:
| RH70 | Letters received in response to loss of Prime Ministership - R.J.L. Hawke | 1991 - 1992 |
| RH81 | Miscellaneous correspondence received - R.J.L. Hawke, Member for Wills, post- Prime Minister of Australia |
1991 - 1992 |
Post Parliament, February 1992 – May 2019
Following his retirement, R.J.L. Hawke pursued a number of business, media, charitable and scholarly pursuits. R.J.L. Hawke died on 16 May 2019, at the age of 89.
Correspondence created by Mr Hawke following his Parliamentary career includes:
| RH72 | Correspondence received, alphabetical | 1992 - 2018 |
| RH76 | Requests for messages of congratulations and condolence - R.J.L. Hawke | 1991 - 2019 |
| RH77 | Requests for autographs | 1991 - 2019 |
| RH78 | Correspondence received, chronological | 1991 - 2019 |
| RH82 | Letters of condolence sent - R.J.L. Hawke | 1996 - 2012 |
| RH83 | Letters of support for Honours - R.J.L. Hawke | 1994 - 2019 |
| RH41 | Greeting cards received - R.J.L. Hawke | 1991 - 2018 |
Biography of Bob Hawke
The Hon Robert James Lee (Bob) Hawke AC was born in Bordertown, South Australia in 1929. He was educated at the University of Western Australia, Oxford University and the Australian National University (ANU). Prior to completing his studies at ANU, Hawke joined the Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU) as a research officer, later becoming the ACTU president from 1973 to 1980.
Hawke joined the Australian Labor Party (ALP) while at university. He entered parliament in 1980 as the Member for Wills and in 1983 was elected as the ALP Leader. Later that year Hawke won the election and became Prime Minister. Under his leadership, the ALP went on to win the next three elections, making Hawke the longest-serving Labor prime minister in Australian history. Throughout his term, Hawke focused on public health care (establishing Medicare), education, human rights and reforms in economics, environmental policy and international affairs.
In 1991, Hawke resigned as Prime Minister and in 1992, he resigned from politics. The Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Centre was established in 1997, along with the Hawke EU Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence and the Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Library. Hawke continued to lend a voice to national issues and remained a strong supporter of the Australian Labor Party until his death on 16 May 2019.
More information about Bob Hawke
Records relating to the Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL are held in a number of organisations across Australia. More information and archival material can be found by exploring the collections linked below.
Related archival collections
- National Archives of Australia
A collection of records created by Hawke in his years as a member of parliament and prime minister, along with the Official Commonwealth records about Hawke including the records on the Hawke Cabinet.
- Museum of Australian Democracy
A collection of resources and archival items relating to Hawke's political career and achievements while in office.
- Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet
A database of transcripts from the Prime Ministers of Australia, which can be searched for lists of Hawke speeches and related transcripts.
- Australian Parliamentary Library
A database of parliamentary records, including records relating to Hawke's career in the Australian Federal Parliament.
- National Film and Sound Archive
A collection of film and sound realia, which can be searched for recordings of and relating to Bob Hawke.
- TROVE (National Library of Australia)
The National Library of Australia's collection of books, images, historic newspaper, maps, archival items and more. Search the TROVE collection for various items relating to Bob Hawke.
There is also a wealth of freely accessible information about the Hon Bob Hawke AC GCL available online. The resources linked below have been selected by staff at the Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Library for their quality and accessibility.
Podcasts
- Bob Hawke at the Woodford Folk Festival (ABC, 2015)
In Conversations with Richard Fidler, Bob Hawke reflects on his years as Australian Prime Minister.
Media
- The Bob Hawke I knew (The Guardian, 2019)
A selection of articles from Australian newspaper The Guardian. Additional articles from The Guardian about Bob Hawke are available here.
- Articles on Bob Hawke (The Conversation, various years)
A selection of 57 articles on the life and legacy of Bob Hawke.
Videos
- Bob Hawke's Legacy on Australia (ABC, 2019)
A great conciliator, former Prime Minister Bob Hawke's achievements as PM included modernising the economy and integrating it into the global community, establishing Medicare, and championing environmental issues.
- Bob Hawke: An Extraordinary Life as 'The People's PM' (ABC, 2019)
Australian Story celebrates the extraordinary life and career of Bob Hawke, Australia’s most popular Prime Minister.
- 80 Hawke Years (UniSA, 2009)
The Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Centre at UniSA hosted a birthday celebration for Former Prime Minister Bob Hawke at a special 80 Hawke Years celebration, honouring the man and his legacy.
