Skip to Main Content

LANG 2015: Children's Literature: Picture Books

LANG 2015: Children's Literature: Picture Books

What you need to do

Please refer to your Course Outline and LearnOnline site for full assessment information.                                                                                                     

Planning your search

Planning your search is key to getting the most out of your search results. The following video will help you get started.

 Video Length: (2 min 26 sec)

Step 1: Identify the main concepts in your research question.

We have created an example assignment topic below to demonstrate how to identify concepts from a research question.

Example: Explore the methods used in picture books to address complex and meaningful themes through visual storytelling.

This topic has two main concepts:

  • Picture books
  • Visual storytelling

Begin your search with these two main concepts. If you encounter a large number of results, consider introducing a third concept to narrow down your search and locate relevant information. 

Third concept

You can decide on a third concept based on the type of literature you would like to find. Below are some examples,

  • Methods
  • Age groups
  • Characterisation
  • Genre

 

Step 2: List alternative terms for each concept.

The search terms listed below are not exhaustive. You will be expected to think of alternative terms for each key concept in the research question. 

Key concepts Alternative terms
picture books picture storybooks
visual storytelling image-based storytelling, visual narrative
methods  approaches, techniques, methods, strategies

 

Step 3: Connect terms together using AND and OR to form a search.

Once you have identified your concepts and found alternative terms, you need to connect these to put your search together.

Use the following connectors to indicate how you want the tool to search for your keywords:

  • OR: Combines similar (alternative) terms
  • AND: Combines different concepts

Remember to use "quotation marks" to keep phrases together.

Find below an example search using the terms listed in the table above. 

"Picture books"

AND 

("visual storytelling" OR "image-based storytelling" OR "visual narrative") 

AND 

(approaches OR techniques OR methods OR strategies)

Library collection

Here is a search from the Library Collection using the concepts outlined in the example research question above.

Library collection search results

 

"Picture books" AND ("visual storytelling" OR "image-based storytelling" OR "visual narrative")

Would you like step by step instructions? Watch the video below to learn how to search the Library catalogue effectively. 

Google Scholar

As Google Scholar will usually locate many results you can add another concept to the search strategy by using the connector AND to focus on an aspect such as “techniques”.

You can also set up your browser to display the 'Fulltext at UniSA" feature in Google Scholar. Follow the instructions here. 

("Picture books" OR "picture storybooks") AND ("visual storytelling" OR "image-based storytelling" OR "visual narrative") AND (approaches OR techniques OR methods OR strategies)

 

Would you like step by step instructions? Watch the video below to learn how to search Google Scholar effectively. 

Database: ProQuest central

Proquest Central is a database that provides content on more than 160 subject areas. This reference resource features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

"Picture books" OR "picture storybooks")

AND ("visual storytelling" OR "image-based storytelling" OR "visual narrative")

You can refine your search results by selecting the filters to the left of the results to 

  • Scholarly journals (under Source type) 
  • Publication date

Would you like step by step instructions? Watch the video below to learn how to search ProQuest Central database effectively. 

Picture books

For your assignment, you may need to select a picture book, an author, or an illustrator. You might find the following sections on the Picture books page useful:

  • International picture book awards
  • Illustrators
  • Selected picture books in the Library Collection
  • List of picture book of the year: Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA)

Jetty jumping           I need a parrot            Iceberg                                     

Critical analysis

Critical thinking is an essential part of taking a scholarly approach to learning. It involves analysing and questioning information you receive to arrive at logical, well-reasoned conclusions. 

The following resources from Study Help will assist you in understanding and developing your critical thinking and analysing skills needed for your assignment. 

Review: Critical Thinking (Monash University)

Review: Critical Thinking (University of Leeds)

Your journal entry should include a reflective element. If you're not familiar with reflective writing, the video and resources below may assist you to understand what is required (video length: 2 min 15 sec).

  • Reflective writing helps you to look back over your learning experiences.
  • It shows how your knowledge, skills and attitudes are developing.
  • Reflective writing involves more than just describing your learning and development.
  • It's important to evaluate and analyse your learning to show a deeper level of reflection.
  • This can include what, why, and how you are learning, any changes you would like to make, and gaps in your understanding.
  •  You may need to link your reflections to your course readings and theories, and consider how these reflections can help you develop as a professional.
  • The layout of reflective writing can vary - always check your task instructions and feedback form for specific details.
  • You can use more personal language in your reflective writing, however it is still a formal assignment and may require you to reference key theories or ideas in an academic style.
  • Reflective writing is not a linear process. It involves adding, changing, rethinking, refining, restructuring your ideas.

APA Referencing Style

 

Need Library support?

Ask the library