It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Author metrics allow you to measure how often your work is cited and can assist in demonstrating your author impact.
Impact can be measured in terms of number of publications, citation counts (for individual publications, all publications or as an average number). Sources of author metrics include: InCites, ResearcherID/Publons, Scopus, Google Scholar and SSRN.
Author engagement can be measured in terms of publisher or repository downloads, social media mentions, mentions within policy documents or your engagement with industry. Author engagement tools include: Altmetric Explorer and social media.
Total number of publications
Total number of citations for all publications
Number of citations for a particular item
Average number of citations
Number of downloads (eg from University and other repositories)
Type of article (eg review articles are more highly cited than editorials)
The University encourages all academic staff to have three author identifiers - ORCID, Scopus (where available) and ResearcherID (now hosted on Publons). One of the major reasons is author disambiguation - they assist in linking research outputs to the correct author. This reduces administrative burden, improves data accuracy and the discoverability of research outputs.
ORCID is independent, community-driven and intended to be overarching. Some publishers and funding bodies have made an ORCID mandatory.
Scopus Author ID is automatically generated for authors whose work is indexed in the Scopus database. Elsevier, using Scopus data, were the citation provider for ERA 2011 and 2015.
ResearcherID is hosted on Publons (provided by Clarivate Analytics). Clarivate Analytics, using Web of Science data, were the citation provider for ERA 2018.
For either ORCiD, Scopus or ResearcherID profiles please ensure the following:
Scopus- make sure your ORCiD is linked into your Scopus profile. If there are errors in your Scopus profile search for your name and choose Edit profile to amend or contact Ask the Library
Web of Science - select the Researchers tab and search for your name and either Claim my record if correct for Remove publications if needed. Once correct you will have a ResearcherID profile created in Publons. Once you login to your Publons profile you can then bring in your publications from Web of Science using the My records > Publication option
Generate a unique, persistent identifier to easily distinguish yourself from other researchers
List all of your research outputs in one place (via import or manual entry)
Link to other identifiers including ResearcherID and Scopus Author ID
What is ORCID@UniSA?
Registering your ORCiD with UniSA simplifies the management of your ORCiD record. It takes 2 minutes to register and this will then reduce the need to manually update your publications. More information is available from the ORCiD research guide.
Grant applications and publishing
ORCIDs are increasingly being used by funding bodies and journal publishers as a way to identify researchers. Therefore, certain publishers and grant funders may ask you to supply your ORCID.
Tip - Include unique identifiers such as Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) in your ORCID records where available. This will improve discoverability and the collection of metrics.
The Name Search box appears, enter Last name and First name. Select the appropriate names as required. If the author is known by other names, these can be added by using the +Include alternative name. Then click on Find
The author records will display. If there are multiple author records, Select the author names, then View Combined Record
A consolidated profile will display, showing a publications list and times cited counts
You can also see percentiles for your publications in the beamplot. Select View full beamplotto view the percentile for each article
A Citation Network window will display the author's H-index, Sum of Times Cited and Citing Articles
Click on View full Citation Report to generate some visualisations.
Note: Why does the number of publications and citations vary between the author profile screen, and the Citation Report screen?
If the author has claimed their author record, they may also have added publications that although indexed in Web of Science are not part of UniSA's subscription; examples include books and book chapters, and journals that are in the Emerging Sources Citation Index backfile.
In these cases, it is possible to add them into their ResearcherID on Publons, then they will be included in the initial search results in Web of Science.
Note: Once you claim your profile(s) in Web of Science you will need to create a Publons profile to host your publications in once place. When you create your profile you will receive a unique researcherID number.
Finding Hot Papers and Highly Cited Papers in Web of Science
A Hot Paper is defined as a paper published in the past two years that received a number of citations in the most recent two-month period that places it in the top 0.1% of papers in the same field
A Highly Cited Paper is a paper that belongs to the top 1% of papers in a research field published in a specified year. The 1% is determined by the highly cited threshold calculated for the research field in the specified year.
To find out if you have a Hot Paper or a Highly Cited Paper, connect to Web of Science and then go to the Authors tab and:
For a Name Search, enter your Last Name and First Name and Search, or
Select Author Identifiers from the drop down menu and insert your ORCiD, and Search
You may see more than one record for your name. If so, tick the box next to all relevant variations and then click View as combined record
The Combined author records display, scroll to the Publications box and click on View as set of results
On the left hand side of the screen, look for the Quick Filters section. if you have any Hot Papers or Highly Cited Papers these will appear as a filter. Tick the box next to the papers and click Refine
One of the largest bibliographic, multidisciplinary databases. Covers chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, psychology and economics, as well as biological, agricultural, environmental and general sciences.
Select the Authors button, and enter your Last Name and Initials
Add your current or former Affiliation to help reduce the number of potential matches
Select the main profile by clicking on the author name
Your personal profile, link to documents, h-index and affiliations will display.
If you have multiple profiles, at the Grouped authors section, select Request to merge authors and follow the steps.
View the short videos below to see:
How to search for an author and view their profile
How to assess an author's impact (note that although some of the boxes may have changed as shown in the video, the content is still valid)
Google Scholar (search next to the Library collection tab) released Google Scholar Citations in November 2011. This product allows you to easily create a profile from existing Google Scholar data. It displays your publications and citations, and calculates your h-index and i10-index.
The i10-index is the number of publications with at least 10 citations. It can be calculated against all publications for an author, or a 'recent' version, which is the number of publications that have received at least 10 new citations in the past 5 years.
Citation rates tend to be high but keep in mind that there may be some duplication and author misidentification.
To check for UniSA researchers who may have a Google Scholar Citations profile, just search for their name in Google Scholar, and it should appear at the top of the results list.
The Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN) is comprised of a number of specialised research networks and includes over 900, 000 research papers within 60 or more disciplines. Free registration is required to download some full text, submit a paper, view references and citations and connect with other researchers in your field.
Some subject databases include citation counts. These counts may only appear in the record for a work if it has been cited at least once. The counts of cited references may be drawn from one database or multiple databases. In some of these databases download counts may also be displayed.
Provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.
Standards issued by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc) are available in full text. This database also provides full text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings
The freely-available version of MEDLINE, the US National Library of Medicine's database covering biomedical and life sciences literature. Also includes records for fulltext material archived by the NLM in PubMed Central and the Bookshelf. UniSA’s Ovid (MEDLINE) subscription includes all parts of PubMed and is updated daily.
This database is designed to meet the information needs of the caring professions, and spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals, from more than 16 countries.