Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Metrics and Impact: The cite cycle

Overview

Citation databases allow you to see who is citing your work (forward citation) and also allow you to review the references you have included in your bibliography (backward citation). Citation rates are one measure of an author’s impact. The two largest international citation databases are Scopus and Web of Science.

Scopus

scopus logo - Navigates to Scopus database

Scopus is a multidisciplinary international abstract and citation database containing peer reviewed literature such as journal articles, books, book chapters and conference proceedings. Scopus also allows you to search for and track authors based on their citations.

To use some of the features of Scopus, you will need to create your own personal account. If you already have a personal account with ScienceDirect or other Elsevier products, the same details can be use.

Access Scopus from the Library databases

The Scopus database collection provides access to over 25,000 titles including:

  • 23,000 peer-reviewed journals
  • trade publications
  • book series
  • conference papers
  • in press articles
  • Comprehensive citation data from 1996 onwards, with cited references
    dating back to 1970 now included
  • SJR and SNIP data available publicly, or within Scopus. SJR (SCImago Journal Rank) and SNIP (Source-Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP) are updated annually in Scopus

To use some of the features of Scopus, you will need to create your own personal account.

If you already have a personal account with Science Direct or other Elsevier products, the same details can be used.

To create an account, follow the prompts at the Create Account screen, by first entering your email address, then filling in the form. Your password will need to consist of a minimum of 8 characters and include a number and a symbol.

Keep up to date and see who cites a particular publication by using the Set citation alert feature.

When looking at an individual publication, look for 

The results will be sent to your email.

You will need to sign in to use this feature.

Scopus - Tracking citations

Search Scopus to see how often a publication has been cited and see if there has been any subsequent research (or refutation) since it has been published.

Here’s an example, beginning with a search topic:

To view if full screen select the  expand icon in the top right of the images below.

Web of Science

Clarivate web of science logo - logo Navigates to Web of Science database when clicked

  • Web of Science Core Collection provides access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences and humanities
  • Includes over 21, 000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals (including Open Access journals)
  • Some conference proceedings are included
  • View the Web of Science platform: Web of Science Core Collection Libguide for more information

To use some of the features of Web of Science, you will need to create your own personal account. If you already have a personal account with ResearcherID/Publons or EndNote Web, the same details can be used, as they are all Clarivate Analytics products.

Access Web of Science from the library databases

The UniSA Library subscription consists of:

Citation Indexes

  • Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1975-present
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1975-present
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --1975-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) --1990-present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities
    (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present
  • Current Chemical Reactions (CCR-EXPANDED)- 1985 – present
  • Index Chemicus (IC) – 1993 present
  • Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) --2015-present

The Emerging Sources Citation Index lists contains new journals that are being reviewed for inclusion in the relevant citation indexes. The list may include journals that are in emerging fields, or from regional locations.

To use some of the features of Web of Science, you will need to create your own personal account.

If you already have a personal account with ResearcherID/Publons or EndNote Web, the same details can be used, as they are all Clarivate Analytics products.

To create an account, follow the prompts at the Registration screen, by first entering your email address, then filling in the form. Your password will need to consist of a minimum of 8 characters and include a number and a symbol.

Keep up to date and see who cites a particular publication by using the 
Create Citation Alert feature.

When looking at an individual publication, in the right hand menu look for 

The results will be sent to your email, or use the RSS feed.

You will need to sign in to use this feature.

Web of Science - Tracking citations

Search Web of Science to see how often a publication has been cited and see if there has been any subsequent research (or refutation) since it has been published.

Here’s an example, beginning with a search topic:

To view if full screen select the  expand icon in the top right of the images below.