Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Metrics and Impact: Impact

Other research impact indicators

There are other indicators of research impact besides metrics, some of these are listed below. 
These could be recorded in a portfolio or notebook. Just list the activity, date, and relevance to your research:

  • Awards and prizes
  • Conference presentations, invited keynotes, expert panels, and published proceedings
  • Editorships of journals, books, and other publications.
  • Holdings of edited, authored or contributed to books in libraries.  A possible source is WorldCat
  • International engagement and collaboration
  • Influence on industry/government/public policy/community/cultural organisations
  • Membership of learned academy
  • Membership of statutory committee
  • Partnerships with other institutions, research groups, or industry
  • Patents
  • Previous successful grant applications and completed research projects
  • Registered designs
  • Research commercialisation income
  • Research fellowships

Engagement and Impact Assessment (EI)

The Australian Research Council (ARC) has announced that the next round of the Engagement and Impact Assessment (EI) will be 2024 – more information. Does your research have impact? Are there people benefiting from the outcomes of your research? To lodge your research impact story complete this form. View here for examples of UniSA's impact stories.

Research impact for Non-Traditional Research Outputs

file icon with music and video symbols

All types of recordings should be considered for impact, including music, audio, film, TV, podcasts, and video art. The impact of audio and video recordings can be difficult to demonstrate, however you can show distribution and reach by using: 

  • View/stream/download statistics from platforms like YouTube or Spotify 
  • Social media shares and mentions 
  • Reviews in online and print media 
  • Inclusion in festivals or broader compilations
  • The citation and page count for discussion in critical texts eg. an art critical monograph that discusses the work of an artist
open book with blue feather pen

Published creative writing could include fiction, poetry, screenplays, scripts, pieces of journalism, published speeches, reviews (art, books, performances) and exhibition catalogues. Evidence of the impact of these outputs can include:  

  • Information from publishers (ie. sales or download figures)
  • Prestige of the publisher or publication
  • Inclusion on university or course reading lists
  • Award nominations or prizes
  • Best-seller lists
  • Editions or translations
  • Social media mentions or shares
  • Review of the work published
  • Library holdings
  • Information on any accompanying work (ie. performance of a play script, production of a screenplay)
  • The citation and page count for discussion in critical texts eg. an art critical monograph that discusses the work of an artist

Metrics for books and chapters
Books and book chapter metrics can assist in measuring the reach and impact of your scholarly publishing. They can be more difficult to find than article and journal metrics, since Scopus and Web of Science are not comprehensive in their coverage and don't consistently index book chapters.

Below is an example statement for a book or chapter

Sutherland, A. (2009). The Albatross in Music and Art. Melbourne: Bird Publications.

Monograph detailing novel approach to critical evaluation used in 7 major projects. 4 reviews in major publications. Held in 33 academic libraries worldwide.

Book reviews 

These can provide evidence of the esteem in which your publication is held by others in your discipline. These metrics may be useful for promotion, employment and grant applications. To find book reviews you can search for a book title using quotation marks in the University of South Australia Library Collection, and then filter under “Resource Type” to “Reviews”.



Library holdings

Library holdings can give an indication of the reach of your publication, and demonstrate that it is considered useful for teaching and research purposes.​ Below are some catalogues that you can search for your holdings. 

  • Trove - includes the holdings of Australian libraries and archives
  • WorldCat - holdings in libraries worldwide


Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar to find citation metrics for book or book chapters – see below. 

Other measures of impact that may be useful:

  • Listing on university or course reading lists
  • "Best seller" lists
  • Awards received
  • Prestige of the publisher
  • Number of editions
  • Translations
  • Publisher supplied information, for example: sales statistics, number of downloads from publisher's website etc.
  • the citation and page count for discussion in critical texts eg. an art critical monograph that discusses the work of an artist
icon of happy and sad theater masks

Live performances can include theatre, dance, music, spoken word performances, and performance art. Evidence of impact of performances may be demonstrated by: 

  • Social media shares and mentions
  • Reviews in online and print media
  • Audience numbers or viewers
  • Invitations to perform at festivals
  • Public and community engagement and potential collaborations/li>
  • The citation and page count for discussion in critical texts eg. an art critical monograph that discusses the work of an artist
icon of artwork in a gallery

Evidence of impact for individual artworks often needs to be collected and managed personally. Evidence can include:  

  • Commissions
  • Invitations to exhibit
  • Sales data
  • Collaborations
  • Inclusion in exhibition catalogues
  • Inclusion in collections eg. holdings of a state or national gallery or major private art collection
  • Artist-in-residence programs may indicate public and community engagement
  • The citation and page count for discussion in critical texts eg. an art critical monograph that discusses the work of an artist

Artworks in any medium may be considered. Exhibitions of multiple artworks (as an artist and/or curator) should be treated separately

icon of a museum exhibition space

Evidence of impact for the exhibitions of multiple artworks may need to be collected and managed personally. Some information may need to be sought from the venue or gallery. Impact might be demonstrated by: 

  • prestige of the venue
  • commissions and invitations to exhibit
  • visitor numbers
  • electronic downloads and website visits
  • sales data
  • exhibition catalogues, sales and downloads
  • reviews
  • social media activity
  • the citation and page count for discussion in critical texts eg. an art critical monograph that discusses the work of an artist

Individual artworks in any medium should be treated separately

Altmetric logo

An alternative metric to measure the impact of your research are altmetrics. These are sometimes used in conjunction with citation and journal metrics or as an alternative. Altmetrics are collected from online sources such as Tweets, Comments, Posts etc. They can be found by using the Altmetric Explorer database or other sources such as catalogues, publisher’s website etc.

An Altmetric example - navigate to Altmetric database

See the Altmetrics section of this guide for more information.

Depositing Non-Traditional Research Outputs into the Research Outputs Repository

The Research Outputs Repository includes records of research outputs by UniSA staff, PhD and Masters by Research students. This maximises the visibility of their research outputs and meets the requirements of the UniSA Open Access Policy.

Non-traditional research outputs (NTROs) such as creative works, public exhibitions and research reports for an external body can be deposited into the Repository. However, to be eligible for Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) and to appear on a Staff Home Page and Academic Staff Activity Report a NTRO must meet the ERA definitions of research and a research statement must be supplied.

Refer to the Non-Traditional Research Outputs site for more information about submission and to view examples of research statements.

Example of Creative Work in the Research Outputs Repository:

Lilies for remembrance

disclaimer

This content has been adapted from the Guide to Research Impact for your Creative Outputs with permission from the University of Melbourne.