ACCT 3013: Contemporary Issues in Accounting
1. Contemporary issues in accounting: Case study
For this assessment, you are required to create an audiovisual presentation and written client brief, in response to one of the proposed scenarios.
Note: See your course website for full assessment details.
2. Planning your search
Researching the topic of your scenario will help you find articles and resources to support your argument.
Think about some keywords that relate to your scenario. Here are just a few examples:
- accounting standards, accounting regulation
- regulation, regulation costs, regulatory increase
- historical cost accounting, current cost accounting, fair value accounting
- IASB, International Accounting Standards Boards, GAAP, Generally Accepted Accounting Principles
Then think about how you can string together various keywords to form a search term, remember to:
- use quotation marks around phrases
- e.g. "current cost"
- connect terms using AND, OR, or NOT
- e.g. "accounting regulation" OR "accounting standards"
More help
3. Finding references
- Library CollectionUsing the search box on the Library website, try out one of the search terms you've put together:
Once you are happy with your search term (it might involve some trial and error), you can then refine the results to make them more relevant by using the 'Refine my results' menu on the right.
One of the options is to choose to Show Only Peer-Reviewed Journals:
You can also refine by date to show more recent articles. Once you've finished your selections, remember to apply filters.
Databases contain additional resources that may not be available via the catalogue. The Library has many accounting databases. For finding journal articles, we recommend trying Business Source Ultimate, which contains a variety of high quality business content. Here is an demonstration on how to use this database:
1. Open Business Source Ultimate from the Library Collection.
2. Enter in your search terms. Note that in this database, the connectors AND, OR, and NOT are built into the search boxes, and you can add more fields to build a longer search terms.
Note: You will need to log in to your account to follow the link to the Business Source Ultimate search above.
3. Like the Library Collection, there will be a menu on the left where you can filter by date and source type.
4. Presentations
- How to Present and Stay on Point - Video (19 min 34 sec)This LinkedIn Learning course contains a series of short videos on delivering a presentation.
The video below, Presentation basics (3 min 18 sec), is one of the videos in the said LinkedIn Learning course.
More help
- Study Help: Oral assessmentsIn particular, check out the sections: Useful language, and Final preparation checklist.
5. Writing a brief
You may get some good tips from reading about accountant/client relationships:
- Managing client expectations for accountantsLearn how to better manage client expectations during tax season and beyond by Thomson Reuters.
- Manage customer relationshipsUnderstand how to build, manage and measure customer relationships by business.gov.au.
6. Referencing support
- Referencing websiteResources on different referencing styles. Find examples of in-text citations and references for diverse formats including articles, books and book chapters, websites and more.
Note: Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the referencing style required for your course.
Managing your references
What do you do with all those references you have found? Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references.
There are many free systems available. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. For more information see the EndNote guide.