Get started
Watch the short video below to get started.
The interactive elements in this page below require you to enable cookies in your web browser
- Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to search.
- Not all search tools will give you access to the same information.
- Understanding why and when to use different search tools will save you time.
- The Library Catalogue:
- is a good place to search for scholarly material.
- provides free access to a variety of resources types across a range of subject areas.
- Databases:
- help focus your search and have more advanced searching options.
- Google Scholar:
- provides access to a wide range of resources, but not all of it is scholarly.
- use the Google Scholar link from the Library website for best access to full-text references.
- Some types of specific information are best found using a search engine or specific website.
- All resources need to be evaluated before using them.
Why use books?
Academic or scholarly books are written or edited by people with subject expertise. Books provide:
- background knowledge
- more comprehensive coverage compared to websites
- definitions of treatments, conditions etc.
- step-by-step guides
The interactive elements in this page below require you to enable cookies in your web browser
It is important to evaluate books you find, this guide from QUT will help you to evaluate:
Design Annuals
A valuable source for inspiration and analysis, providing the latest (often award-winning) work annuals are published once a year. They contain,
- resources selected by industry professionals as part of competitions,
- paid advertising by designers seeking to promote their work.
It is not possible to search them online. You need to either browse or search award winners featured in selected annuals by visiting the publishers' websites e.g. D&AD Awards - browse archive.
|
Add keyword annual to searches in the catalogue. Example
See more examples below |
Search the Library Collection
The Library Collection is a good place to start your search for finding eBooks, journal articles, reports, videos, and more.
Learn more on how to search collection.
Video Length: 3 min 33 sec
How to read a Library collection record
Search for books
Search by title
If you know the book title and author surnames, you can also search the title using double quotation marks and include the author's surname to narrow your results:
e.g. "An Introduction to Language" AND Fromkin
Notice AND is capitalised and used to separate the author name and the title.
If there is a book available, you will see the option to Online access or borrow a print version.
Search by keywords
You can also search with keywords, for example:
Narrow your results further by using the filters on the left-hand side menu. Go to Resource Type > Books, then Show Only > Full Text Online
|
 |
