Skip to Main Content

INFT 1028 UO Introduction to Digital Media: Video Pre-Production

Introduction

This page will get you started in conducting research for Continuous Assessment 1.1 Project Proposal and Treatment

Your assessment requires you to:

  • Research existing promotional videos
  • Do some scholarly research about the product/topic/approach
  • Identify your audience and do more research about this demographic

The project proposal will need to include an annotated bibliography that shows research from a range of scholarly sources and other resources (videos, websites, etc.)

Plan your search

Before you start finding scholarly sources or promotional videos you need to plan your search

Identify keywords

Taking time to plan your search will save you time and help you find information more efficiently.

  1.  Identify the main concepts/keywords in your research topic
  2.  Think of any relevant synonyms (similar concepts) for each concept
  3.  Connect your concepts together using boolean operators (AND and OR) to form a search

A table or mindmap can be a useful strategy for doing this. 

For example, if your chosen product is soft drink, you might identify the following main concepts and relevant synonyms:

Concept 1
soft drink

Concept 2
marketing

carbonated drink
soda

promotion
advertisin

Tip: As you search you may find more alternative words to include in searches.

Watch the Plan your search video (2 min 26 sec)

Connect your keywords

Once you have identified your keywords and found alternative keywords, you need to connect these to put your search together.

Use the following operator words, which most search tools will have, to indicate how you want the tool to search for your keywords:

  • OR: Combines similar keywords
  • AND: Combines different keywords
  • NOT: Excludes words from the search (use cautiously and only when necessary or you might exclude results you actually want)

Remember to use "quotation marks" to keep phrases together.

For example:

soda AND marketing

("soft drink" OR "carbonated drink") AND (promotion OR advertising)

Find Scholarly Sources

You have been asked to do some extra scholarly research about the product/topic/approach

Scholarly sources can also be referred to as academic or peer-reviewed (refereed) sources. These can include journal articles, books, book chapters, reports and other sources.

Study Help: Scholarly sources explained video (2 min 22 sec)

Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to search.  The following video will help you to understand why and when to use different search tools.

Watch the following video Choosing Where to Search (2 min 14 sec) 

Where to search

Library Collection

The Library Collection is a good place to start your search for scholarly material. You can use it to find eBooks, journal articles, reports, videos and more.

Quick tips to get you started:

  • Try a topic search e.g. soda AND marketing
  • Use the filters under 'Refine my Results' to find exactly what you need.
    • Narrow by Format type: Book or Articles or Media
    • Find scholarly journal articles by selecting: Show Only > Peer-reviewed journals
    • Narrow your search by a Date range

Want to know more?

Visit the library's Searching for your Literature Review Guide for videos and tips.

Key Databases

Databases are online collections of resources including articles, papers, book chapters and reports. Databases have advanced search options, helping to focus your search and find more relevant, scholarly references quickly.

Find scholarly sources

Want to know more?

Read: How to Save Time Searching Databases - PDF (301.42 KB)

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than the whole internet. You will be able to link directly to articles that the library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link. Search Google Scholar directly from the Library homepage for best access to full-text references.

Visit the library's Searching for your Literature Review Guide for videos and tips.

Key points from the video

  • Not all search tools will give you access to the same information.
  • Understanding why and when to use different search tools will save you time.
  • The Library Collection:
    • is a good place to search for scholarly material.
    • provides free access to a variety of resources types across a range of subject areas.
  • Databases:
    • help focus your search and have more advanced searching options.
  • Google Scholar:
    • provides access to a wide range of resources, but not all of it is scholarly. 
    • use the Google Scholar link from the Library website for best access to full-text references.
  • Some types of specific information are best found using a search engine or specific website.
  • All resources need to be evaluated before using them.

Find promotional videos

You have been asked to research existing promotional videos.

A good starting point for finding promotional videos is the database WARC. The database features detailed marketing and PR campaigns.

Browse WARC by industry

To browse by industry, from the navigation bar at the top of the screen, select More then Categories:

Image: WARC navigation bar

From the results screen, select a category of interest. A list of results will appear. You can limit to campaigns only using the Content Type > Case Study filter on the right

Selecting the title of a campaign case study loads the Campaign Report. This often includes promotional videos, as well as information about the objectives, methods and target audience.

 

Filter WARC by media channel

Alternatively, you may wish to search by the media channel through which the videos were disseminated (for example Television & Connected TV or Online Video). 

To search by Media Channel or Tactic employed, select Strategy and then Case Finder.Image: WARC navigation panel

From the Case Finder page you can filter by Media & Channel.

Then select which channels you wish to include. Select 'lead' to find cases in which a media or channel plays a leading or significant role or select 'mix' to find cases that only include a media or channel in their marketing mix.

It may also be worthwhile searching the websites of organisations which are in the product category you wish to explore to find promotional videos. 

TIP: Look for sections like 'about us', 'media centre', 'news room' or social media handles. These can sometimes be found at the bottom of the page.

Research target audience

You have been asked to identify your audience and do more research about this demographic

Select the options below to learn more about different places to find target audience information

Finding target audience information in Statista

Statista is a good resource for finding target audience information. Particularly useful are Statista’s ‘target group reports'.

From the Statista homepage go to Reports > Consumer and Brand Reports

From here you can do a search for the product you are interested in, for example, "soft drinks";

It is then possible to use the ‘REGIONS/COUNTRIES’ filter on the left-hand side of the page to filter to Australia

Note that there may not always be a report on the target group you wish to explore. In this case, there wasn’t a target group report for soft drink consumers in Australia, but there was a target group report on ‘Energy drink consumers in Australia’ 

Finding target audience information in WARC

WARC can also be a great place to find target audience information. As before, begin by browsing by industry, from the navigation bar at the top of the screen, select More then Categories.

From the results screen, select a category of interest. A list of results will appear. You can limit to campaigns only using the Content Type > Case Study filter on the right

Selecting the title of a campaign case study loads the Campaign Report. Many campaign reports will contain a ‘Target Audience’ section which can help you gain insights into each campaign's target audience

Finding target audience information in Passport GMID

Passport GMID offers ‘country reports’ which are useful for finding target audience information. From the Passport GMID homepage, select ‘Analysis’ from the drop-down menu to the left of the search bar and do a search for your chosen product and then select Go. In this example, we will search for “soft drinks”
                             

Then, within the ‘GEOGRAPHIES’ filter on the right-hand side of the page, you can filter to Australia
                                       

From here you will be able to find a ‘COUNTRY REPORT’ for ‘Soft Drinks in Australia’

                                        

You will then be able to download the report as a PDF by checking the box for your desired category and selecting ‘Download Report’

               

Within the report itself, commonly the ‘PROSPECTS AND OPPORTUNITIES’ and ‘Key Trends’ sections will provide demographic insights into the product category's consumers

The Library also subscribes to a number of databases which feature company and industry reports which may be helpful in researching your target audience. These company and industry reports include information about different organisations, as well as their key stakeholders, publics and consumers. Learn more on our dedicated guide:

TIP: Annual reports often include target audience information. Additionally, there may also be scholarly articles in the Library Collection or Google Scholar with target audience information. Try searching for your chosen product using a similar structure to the search below:


"soft drink" AND (audience OR demographic) 

Video pre-production

Learn more about the different aspects of the pre-production phase of video creation using the helpful resources below:

Budget/Scope:

Story selection and story boarding:

Script Creation:

Location/Talent:
Go to Content > Resources within the INFT 1082 LearnOnline site for templates for talent release, location release and more

Video strategy/goals

SMART is an acronym for the 5 steps of setting specific, measurable, achievable, relevant, and time-based goals. SMART stands for goals which are

Specific

Measurable

Achievable

Relevant

Time-based

 

The SMART model is helpful in setting goals for your video which will help with the various stages of the video production process. For more help with SMART objectives, have a look at these sites:

Annotated bibliography

Now it is time to put all of your research together in an annotated bibliography.

An annotated bibliography is a summary of sources (e.g. journal articles, books or book chapters) addressing a research topic.

Each source is listed as a separate entry including:

  • Full reference information
  • Short summary of the main ideas in the text
  • Brief critical evaluation/critique of the text

Use the links below to help you write and reference your assignment:

Referencing support

Other referencing support tools: referencing software (EndNote)

What do you do with all the references you have found? You can use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references.

The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote.

EndNote Guide

Feedback