Digital media
eBooks
-
Articulating design decisions
by
Publication Date: 2020Focuses on principles, tactics, and actionable methods for presenting your designs. Whether you design apps, websites, or products, you'll learn how to get support from people who have influence over the project. -
Multimedia Foundations
by
Publication Date: 2023Covers the principles and skills common to all forms of digital media production, enabling the creation of successful, engaging content, no matter what tools are used. -
Writing and editing for digital media
by
Publication Date: 2020Explores writing and editing for digital media with information about voice, style, media formats, content development, and more. -
Big Screens, Small Forms
by
Publication Date: 2022We witness an era with more screens than ever before, and within each screen, a multitude of visual varieties. This collection of essays explores the transformational potential of digital media culture. -
Hey Whipple, squeeze this
by
Publication Date: 2022A new take on the rapidly evolving industry of creative advertising. Learn how to tell brand stories and create content for Instagram, YouTube, and TikTok.
Other resources
-
Content creation & marketing using Adobe Express (2025)Dives into the features and tools of Adobe Express through the creation of graphics, social media posts, and marketing materials. Learn how to leverage customisable templates and branding elements to produce professional-quality content.
Via O'Reilly.
Course length: 6 hours, 22 mins. -
Content creation: strategy and tools (2024)Master proven strategies and AI-powered tools to create high-quality, engaging social media content that drives results and saves you time.
Via Linkedin learning.
Course length: 58 mins. -
How to use ChatGPT for content creation (2023)Explore the key features and capabilities of ChatGPT for social media content creation.
Via Linkedin learning.
Course length: 35 mins. -
Art & copy (2012)Art and Copy introduces the cultural visionaries who revolutionised advertising during the industry's golden age by creating slogans to live by and ads we all remember.
Via Kanopy.
Video length: 1 hour, 28 mins. -
Documentary Australia webinarsA collection of free webinars, including masterclasses and information sessions.
The following links are some of prominent visual resources from institutions. Remember: always check the copyright restriction and attribution requirement whenever you are using other people's work.
-
National Film and Sound Archive (NFSA)The National Film and Sound Archive is Australia's 'living' archive – the custodian of over 2.8 million items that we not only collect, but preserve for future generations and share in many diverse ways.
-
State Library of South AustraliaThe State Library of South Australia offers free membership to all South Australians. Many of the online resources can be accessed from home.
-
Trove - categoriesTrove features items from a vast range of cultural and community collections across Australia, including images, maps, websites, audio and more.
This link leads to an introduction to the different search categories on Trove. -
Trust me (documentary, 2020)A feature-length documentary which explores human nature, information technology, media bias, and the need for media literacy.
Through Kanopy. Video length: 1 hr, 30 mins.
Here are a few journals you may like to browse or search within. Also, try searching a relevant Library database for journal articles.
-
Computer graphics forumThe premier journal for in-depth technical articles on computer graphics.
-
Journal of visual cultureAn international refereed journal welcoming contributions that explore and expand trans-disciplinary global visual cultures.
-
A list apart magazineExplores the design, development, and meaning of web content, with a special focus on web standards and best practices.
-
Journal of digital media & interactionResearch on digital media and user experience in creative, cultural and social contexts.
The following magazines, websites and blogs may be of interest. Remember to always evaluate the information you find.
-
COLOURloversCOLOURlovers is a creative community where people from around the world create and share colours, palettes and patterns, discuss the latest trends and explore colourful articles... All in the spirit of love.
-
Design ShackA UK website that showcases inspiring web design as well as giving useful resources and tutorials. View the gallery to see different designs.
-
Digital ArtsDigital Arts is the UK's leading resource for creative professionals. It covers graphic design, 3D, animation, video, effects, web and interactive design. Find the latest news and review.
-
Smashing magazineAn independent magazine founded in September 2006, this magazines gives useful and innovative information to Web designers and developers. Find the latest trends and techniques in Web development.
-
StashStash delivers inspiration and insight into outstanding design, visual effects and animation projects and the people who create them.
-
Web Designer WallThis popular blog is written by aToronto-based web designer and illustrator. It discusses design ideas, trends, and tutorials.
Lessons from the top film editors
Sven from "This Guy Edits" discusses the best film editing advice from top talent (12 Oscar Wins & 40 Nominations).
Video length: 16min 56sec
Industry information
Galleries, Libraries, Archives & Museums (GLAM)
Film & Documentary
Web Design & Coding
Entertainment Industries (Film & Television)
Screen/Script Writing
Film & Screen Writing
Find more awards, events, and festivals on our Film, TV, and Performing Arts Guide here!
Be inspired
Having creative blocks?
Here are some tips and inspiring videos from industry professionals.
How I turned frustration into creative success
Sharing his accidental journey to viral fame, digital pioneer Joshua Schachter reveals how programming a robot to make deliberate mistakes in otherwise deeply satisfying plotter art sparked millions of views (and hilariously strong reactions).
Video length: 4 mins, 49 secs.
-
TED: designA collection of TED talks and articles in which designers share their creative process.
-
Unique ways to generate creative ideas (2021)Learn how to find creative power through a system of approaches, habits, practices, and exercises to trigger inspiration when, where, and how you want it.
Via Linkedin learning.
Course length: 1 hour, 5 mins. -
How to overcome and avoid creative blocks (2025)Discover effective techniques to overcome and prevent creative blocks in personal or professional settings.
Via Linkedin learning.
Course length: 34 mins.
Related Guides
