BANK 5018: Behavioural Finance - Group presentation
1. Assignment details
This assessment requires you to make a video and support this with a PowerPoint presentation.
Note: Please refer to your course outline and course site for full assessment details.
2. Finding information
- Library CollectionA useful starting point in locating academic references. It is like a search engine which searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.
To do a search, try using
- double quotes for phrases
- truncation* to find the plural and other forms of a word
- connect using AND, OR and NOT
At the results list you can:
- Limit to articles from Peer Reviewed publications
- Limit by Date e.g. 2019 to 2024
- See the full text for many items by selecting the title, then look for the Online link
- Library collection search tipsTop tips on how to search in the Library collection.
You can search databases to find quality journal articles on your topic. To find which databases are best suited to your subject area, go to the Database category list, and select the (>) icon next to the Business and Management category. For this course choose the Finance databases.
- DatabasesList of Library-subscribed databases by category.
Tip: Most databases have a limiting feature which will allow you to retrieve items published within a particular year or year range (e.g. 2019-2024).
- Business Source UltimateA large international database which includes many premium peer-reviewed, business related journals and indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.
Content covers the areas of finance, accounting, economics, international business, management, marketing and tourism. It's also a good source of company information.
Just enter your keywords into the search box to start searching.
You can limit your search to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles by ticking the scholarly/peer reviewed option. You can also limit your search by date range.
Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than the whole internet. Access from the Library homepage to see 'Full-text at UniSA' option.
3. Making your video using PowerPoint
Where can I access PowerPoint?
PowerPoint (Office 365) can be found in all general purpose computer pools and computer barns on campus. All pools/barns have sound cards and headphone sockets.
- Computer pools or barns: Software and hardware searchFind a local computer pool or barn that has the software or hardware you require.
You will need headphones with a microphone, or you may record using your mobile phone, or on a laptop. You can also borrow a laptop with an inbuilt microphone from the Library. Laptops cannot be booked in advance. You can access PowerPoint at home as part of Office 365. For more information see Office 365 for students.
- PowerPoint (Office 365)PowerPoint can be found in all student computers on any campus at UniSA. You can also download PowerPoint (Packaged in Office 365) for free using your UniSA student details.
Information and resources
Learn more how to create your video using or self-running PowerPoint presentation.
This Library video (24 min 5 sec) shows you how to make a video using PowerPoint.
If you would like to just watch a particular segment, the time stamps are:
- Introduction 0:00
- Change slide transitions to make your presentation auto running 0:21
- Add animations 3:01
- Record your narration 10:42
- Add music 18:05
- Convert your presentation to a video 20:19
5. Where can I film my video?
If you need a space where you won't be interrupted you may like to book a study room. You can book a study room in the Jeffrey Smart Building.
- Library Study RoomsBook a study room in the Library through the Library website or through the student app.
Note: Study rooms are not sound proof. Please be mindful of quiet and silent spaces in the Library to refrain from disturbing other people.
There is a green screen available in Barbara Hanrahan (BH)2-12. You are not able to book this room but can use the green screen when the room is not in use.
There are recording facilities in JS6-03. This room is only bookable for law students and law students have priority access however you are welcome to use it if it is not in use.
4. Oral presentation tips
- Presenting as a team - Video (58 min 36 sec)LinkedIn Learning course which is subdivided into short videos.
- Study Help: Oral PresentationsStudy help resources on oral assessments including oral presentation created by the Student Engagement Unit.
5. How to work effectively in a team
Watch the video (5 min 7 sec) below about how to effectively work in a team.
- Group AssignmentsResources and tips for working successfully in a group, including dealing with any challenges that may arise.
6. Finding and attributing images
The video (1 min 45 sec) below has information on how to find images you can use in your video and presentation.
Note: Remember you need to attribute all images you use.
- Attributing Images Licenced for Reuse - Video (2 min 28 sec)Learn how to attribute images licenced for reuse.
7. Referencing Support
- Referencing websiteResources to help you with various referencing styles by the Learning Advisers. Find in-text citations and reference examples from different sources such as articles, books and chapters, websites and more.
Note: Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the citation style required for your course.
Managing your references
What do you do with all those references you have found? Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references.
There are many free systems available. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. For more information, see the EndNote guide.