Marketing: BUSS 5245: Strategic Marketing

Assignment Help

1. Assessment Two : Marketing Plan

This assessment has two options

1: As a group of 4-6 write a marketing plan for a brand from the list of selected brands. OR

2 : You may propose to do a marketing exercise on a project that would be useful to you or your organisation. Please note for this option you will need approval from your course coordinator. 

This guide was created to help you find information for this assessment. See your course outline and LearnOnline page for more details.

2. Plan your search

Key questions you will need to know to help you search for information

Is your company or brand
1. Australian or international?
2. Private, public or non profit?
3. What industry?
4. Owned by a parent company?

    Tip: Visit your brand's website and spend time exploring. Look for things like 'about us', 'our story', 'our company'  to find out more about your brand.

                       

3. Analysis and recommendations

SWOT analysis is a model that analyzes an organization’s strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats to create the foundation of a marketing strategy.
 
Have a look at these sites for help with conducting a SWOT analysis:
 

 

A PESTLE (or PEST) analysis examines factors affecting the Political, Economic, Social, and Technological, Legal and Environmental landscape around your industry or company.

Try these sites for more information on conducting PESTLE analysis:
 

 

The Porter's Five Forces model helps marketers to look at the ‘balance of power’ in a market between different types of organisations, and to analyse the attractiveness and potential profitability of an industry sector. It helps to review the strengths of a market position, based on five key forces.

For more help with Porter's Five Forces, have a look at these sites:
 

 

SMART is an acronym for the 5 steps of setting specific, measurable, achievable, relevant, and time-based goals.

For more help with SMART objectives, have a look at these sites:

4. Company and industry information

Navigate to the Company and Industry Information guide

Have a look at our online guide to finding Company and industry information.

This guide will help you search the web and our databases to find company and industry information, financial information, annual reports and country information.

5. Market research

IBISWorld contains company reports on the top 2000 Australian companies and industry reports on Australian industries, as well as selected US and Chinese industries. It also includes Australian Industry Risk Rating reports with forecasted risks the industry will face over the next 18 months.

Company and Industry Information

1. Type your chosen industry into the search (e.g. beer manufacturing). Select Search.

2. Use the filters just below the search box to refine to Country: Australia, and Report: Industry. (The results list will update automatically).

3. Select the industry report that is relevant.

Business Source Ultimate helps you locate scholarly and industry information covering all business topics.

This is an example of an Advanced Search using Business Source Ultimate.

You can limit your search by date range and source type (Market Research Reports, Industry Profiles, etc.) from the box on the left hand side of the results screen.

Statista provides information on market data, market research, and market studies. it also includes company and brand reports and industry reports.

To find company information

You can search for company information by selecting Company DB tab and then search for your chosen company.

To find industry information
  • Type industry keywords into search box e.g. wine
  • Can refine further, e.g. by Countries & Territories at the left hand side of the results page. 

You can also search for industry information by selecting Reports > Industry Reports and then searching for your chosen industry.

D&B Hoovers includes access to industry and market research reports, both Australian and Global. Also includes SWOT Analysis reports for the top 5,000 global companies.

Company Information

Watch the following video on D&B Hoovers to get you started with company search:

  -  Find company information (2:56)  

Industry Information

1. Type the name of an industry into the search box (e.g. beverage manufacturing)

2. Change the drop down menu to Industries

3. Select the link to the industry code from the search results

Watch the following video on finding industry information using D&B Hoovers:

  -  Find industry information (3:08)

Passport GMID is a global market research database providing company and industry information, sales trends, marketing developments and market strategies.

Below is an example of a search for a country report for alcoholic drinks in Australia. This type of report can give a good analysis on the industry as well as providing information on key competitors in the market. 

   

WARC is an in-depth marketing and advertising resource with research, reports, case studies and insights into brands and consumers. 

An easy to use, fun to explore and highly recommended resource. 

 Tip: Try a general search first, for example for Cadbury Dairy Milk try searching for chocolate. You can then filter your search with the option on the left side including region and date range

 

How to explore consumer insights for an industry


1. Select browse by interest > topics            

2. Select Consumer & Audiences

3. Select your consumer demographic

4) Type your industry in the 'Search within'

6. Study Help

Now that you have your information it is time to get started writing your marketing plan. Please visit your course outline for details on a marketing template provided for you to use. 

Study Help is a useful tool packed with resources to help with your assignments and studies so please visit and explore.

7. Referencing Support

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)
Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)
Help with the Harvard UniSA referencing style. Find in text-citations and reference examples, from different sources such as articles, books & chapters, websites, and more.

Other referencing support tools:

  • Referencing forum
    Discuss referencing, exchange advice and post questions and answers about referencing (facilitated by Student Engagement Unit).
  • What do you do with all those references you have found?

    Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. There are also many free systems available.