Skip to Main Content

MARK 3015/3020 Branding Assignment Help

Find industry and academic sources for your brand audit and final report

1. What you need to do

This guide will help you to find industry and academic sources to inform your preliminary brand audit review and final brand report, and contains information on interactive oral discussions.

Remember to always read your course outline or course website to clarify the assignment instructions and marking criteria supplied.

2. Plan your search

Once you have selected your brand ask yourself the following:

Note: For this assignment help we are using Boost Juice as an example company.

Is your brand:

1. Australian or international? Boost Juice is Australian

2. Private, public or non profit? Boost Juice is a private company

3. What industry? Boost Juice falls under a few different industries. For instance, it is grouped with Grocery stores > Other specialised food retailing > Miscellaneous food stores in the D&B Hoovers database, and Drinks > Soft drinks > Juice in the Passport database.

4. Owned by a parent company? Yes, owned by a parent company -Boost Juice is a subsidiary of Retail Zoo Pty Ltd

Tips:

  • Visit your brand's website and spend time exploring. Look for things like 'about us', 'our story', 'our company' to find out more about your brand.
  • Company360 is a useful database to begin searching for your company and what industry it belongs to.
  • Plan your search - More help
    For more help in planning your search take a look at the 'Plan your Search' page in the Marketing guide.

3. Where to search

The library has a range of search tools, such as company and industry databases, to help you locate relevant information. Here are some key databases you should search:

Industry reports Company information Market research literature Country reports
Passport GMID Company 360  WARC Passport GMID
IBISWorld D&B Hoovers Business Sources Ultimate​  
Statista Statista  Gale OneFile: Business​  

Note: Not every database will include information about all of the companies.

For more help visit the guide:

4. How to find industry information

  1. From the Home Page, select Industries > select your chosen industry
  2. Select your chosen industry, analysis, product category and geography in the filter box on the left. Select GO.
  3. Your country report should automatically open.
  4. Using the menu at the top of the report, you can navigate through different information such as industry analysis, datagraphics, context, and related industries.Worl
  1. Type your chosen industry/company into the search and hit the Enter key. 

​Search for "Boost Juice" in IBISWorld​

  1. Use the filters below the search box to limit your search to Country: Australia and Report: Industry. (The results list will update automatically).
     
  2. Select the industry report that is relevant.

To find industry information

  • Type industry keywords into search box e.g. streaming services
  • Once you have opened a result, to view the topic as a single document, select 'Go to report' from the 'Dossier On The Topic' box

You can also search for industry information by selecting Reports > Industry Reports and then searching for your chosen industry.

Screenshot of Reports tab in Statista database, highlighting the Industry Reports section

5. How to find company information

  1. Type your chosen company into the search and click the search button.Search for Boost Juice in Company360 database search bar.
  2. Select your company from the search results to review company details and reports.

Screenshot from Company360 database showing the search results.

Tip: Can't find your company? Try looking for the parent company, or try a different database.

The following videos on D&B Hoovers will get you started:

Tip: Can't find your company? Try looking for the parent company, or try a different database.

To find company information

  • Type name of company into search box, e.g., Netflix
  • Use the filters on the left hand side to narrow your results

You can also search for company information by selecting Reports > Brand and Company Reports and then searching for your chosen brand or company.

Screenshot of Reports section in Statista database, highlighting the Brands & Company Reports section

Tip: Can't find your company? Try looking for the parent company, or try a different database.

6. How to find market research

7. Putting it all together

8. Develop your interactive oral discussion

As part of the assessment you will have to facilitate an interactive oral discussion. The below resources will get you started with your presentation skills and give you tips on how to make an impact and structure your discussion.

The following videos from LinkedIn Learning provide tips for presentations: 

Note: You will need to login using your UniSA credentials to view videos on LinkedIn.

9. Write your executive summary

Your oral discussion must include a one-page executive summary.

  • It is a brief summary of your key findings and recommendations from the main body of your report
  • It appears at the start of the report; however, it should be written last, once the report has been finished
  • It needs to be concise, providing a commentary on the main points of the report 

Your executive summary should include key findings and recommendations to grow the brand. You should demonstrate critical thinking and link the concepts to practice in the specific setting. 

See the video below for tips on writing summaries:

Or explore more videos from LinkedIn Learning for tips on writing an executive summary.

Feedback