Skip to Main Content

Find information

Where to search

Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to search. The following video (2 min 14 sec) will help you to understand why and when to use different search tools.

Key points from the video

  • Different search tools cover different collections of resources
  • The Library Collection is a good place to search for scholarly material
  • The Library Collection provides free access to a variety of resources types across a range of subject areas
  • Databases help focus your search and have more advanced searching options
  • Google Scholar provides access to a wide range of resources, but not all of it is scholarly
  • Use the Google Scholar link from the Library website for best access to full-text references
  • Search multiple places to save time and find better results
  • All resources need to be evaluated before using them

The Library Collection

The Library Collection is a good place to start your search. You can use it to find eBooks, journal articles, reports, videos and more. Using the "refine my results" menu, you can refine your search to find exactly what you need.

How to start your search (opens in a new tab)

More help

Learn to search the Collection

Key databases

Databases are online collections of resources including articles, papers, book chapters and reports. Databases have advanced search options, helping to focus your search and find more relevant, scholarly references quickly.

Tourism, Hospitality and Event Management Databases

Want to Know More?

Read: How to Save Time Searching Databases (PDF 301 KB)

Using Harvard Business Review

It is recommended to access the Harvard Business Review journal through the Business Source Ultimate database.

To search for articles on specific topics within the journal, click the 'Search within this publication' link and on the search page, then enter the title or keywords starting from the second row.

Note: Leave the first row as it is to keep the search within the Harvard Business Review journal.

Screenshot of advanced search bar in Business Source Ultimate

Searching Google Scholar

Google Scholar only searches academic and scholarly websites.

Searching Google Scholar via the Library website activates a "Full-text at UniSA" link - this gives you direct access to Library-subscribed content.

Tips for searching

Test your knowledge with the following interactive tutorial.

Google Scholar search tutorial

LibKey Nomad

With the Nomad extension activated, you can access direct links to eBooks, online articles and PDFs on websites such as PubMed, publisher websites, and Wikipedia using the following icon:

Download PDF icon

Benefits include:

  • Ability to access relevant Library content conveniently and instantly via the open web
  • Completely anonymous – no user data is shared with or by LibKey
  • Simple browser extension that can be set up in seconds without training

Download and installation help

Find more information

Find company and industry information

Find case studies

This short video (4 min 7 sec) introduces you to case studies - what they are and how they're used.

Find news media

Find statistics

A huge range of statistical resources can be found on the Library's Company and Industry Information Guide (see link to the guide above), or try the following key databases:

Find videos

Access to a wide range of video content through a number of key video databases, including:

Select appropriate references

While you are finding references, you need to think about whether they are appropriate to use in your assignment. You may be asked to use scholarly or peer-reviewed material to support your arguments. 

You should evaluate all resources before including them in your assignment - even if you found them through the Library Collection or databases.

More help