This guide will provide you with some key starting points to find a range of literature for your literature review. Check your assessment details for further information.
The purpose of a literature review is to discuss what is know about a particular topic area or question. It should identify, classify and evaluate relevant literature already published by other researchers.
|Step 1||Step 2||Step 3|
|Identify existing literature relevant to your topic area.||Interpret, compare and evaluate the main ideas present.||Summarise current knowledge, contrasting ideas and any gaps.|
For this assessment you need to develop a research question that is clear and answerable.
To help you get started
Struggling? For more in depth help use:
Once you have focused your topic area into a focused and clear research question consider what terminology you can search with.
Example research question developed:
This is important as researchers can refer to ideas and terminology in difference ways across the literature.
You may have already found some terminology (keywords) from your initial searching. It can useful to map out or table these to organise your search approach. For example:
Other terms (synonyms or alternative keywords)
program, software, technology etc.
|protect||protects, protecting, protected, alert, detect etc.|
|commercial airports||commercial airport / airline / aviation industry / airplane etc.|
|drone||drone, unmanned aircraft, UAV etc.|
Tip: Look at the terminology used in titles, keywords and abstracts and add them.
Besides searching the Library Collection search and Google Scholar consider searching:
There may be others of relevance depending on your question.
It is recommended that you also search for relevant academic (scholarly) literature using Library databases.
Depending on your research question you may not need to search on every concept.
This collection includes the Advanced Technology & Aerospace and Materials Science & Engineering Databases
Tip: Use double quotes to search for exact phrases.
This database is part of the Aviation Week Network and provides access to news briefs, analysis reports, research publications and company profiles.
Use the following help resources to put your paper together: