Add readings

The Library facilitates access to resources in accordance with the Library Collection Policy: physical/print resources are acquired only in exceptional cases, where no suitable alternatives are available. When purchasing ebooks, we aim to purchase the least restrictive licence; therefore the presence of 3-user (or 1-user) licence indicates that it was the best option available to us at the time of purchase.

In most cases, a 3-user licence book will meet the needs of hundreds of students without significant access issues. Depending on the size of the student cohort, and page download settings, even a 1-user license may be sufficient. In the event that your students report access issues, please refer them to Ask the Library: our librarians are skilled at quickly resolving such issues. Please also refer your students to the Library's eBooks guide for detailed guidance, advice and tips; this guide includes dedicated pages for each ebook platform (e.g. ProQuest Ebook Central).

When an ebook is available, adding copies of chapters to your reading list will be approved only in exceptional circumstances, and will require detailed evidence of access issues. Please direct your request to Ask the Library; the Library will assess each request on its own merits, assessing the evidence, discussing relevant issues, and proposing alternative solutions.

Before setting a textbook for your course, we strongly urge you to use the Library's Check for textbook availability form to verify that the intended text will meet your students' accessibility needs.

There are a few factors:

• If your request is link-based and doesn't contain any Notes for library, it'll be immediately auto-approved.
• If your request is file-based or you've selected Locate, the turnaround time depends on the availability of the resource: if UniSA doesn't already hold the required resource, the Library will source it; this could take anywhere between a few hours and more than a month.
• Generally, Library staff process requests in the order in which they've been submitted, although when a particular study period draws near, focus shifts to requests associated with that study period.
• During busy periods the turnaround time is longer than during quieter periods, because of the greater number of requests being submitted. The busiest months are February and July.

Follow the How to add a new reading instructions to enter the reading citation data and make sure to choose Locate for the Kind field. Please note:

• Do not add any link in the Kind field; choose Locate instead. The request will be automatically approved if a link is added, and as a result the request will not be received by Library staff.
• If you have any special instructions for the Library, please indicate this in the Notes for library field when submitting the request.

Maybe. If eReserve detects a possible duplicate, it will show you the existing reading and ask if you want to use it. To use the existing reading, select the 'tick' icon next to the reading.

If you try to submit a reading with citation data missing from any required fields, you’ll be prompted to enter the missing information before proceeding.

Yes. Select New visual reading, then select Motion Picture from the Genre dropdown list. If the video is an episode of a program, select Broadcast as the Genre instead.

Only if the chapter is not paginated (i.e. formatted as pages, with or without page numbers). For example, if the chapter is contained on a single webpage, then provide a word count rather than page numbers.

Yes. Library staff will check the copyright status of the PDF before making it available in eReserve. eReserve will flag any possible citation data or copyright issues for Library staff to review before approving the reading file for use within eReserve. If we have online access to the resource (such as via a Library database), Library staff will replace the PDF with a link to the resource.

First, follow the How to add an existing reading instructions, to see whether the reading already exists in either the eReserve repository or the Library Catalogue; if it does, use those instructions to add the existing reading.

If the reading doesn't already exist, use the guidance under the subheadings below, depending on whether:

• you can locate the Library Collection record
• you can't locate the Library Collection record
• the resource is Open Access or freely available online
• you're still unsure which link to use.

If you can locate the Library Collection record

Access the reading's Library Collection record, and copy the Bookmark.

(Note: Don't use the Collection record link for items that are only available in physical format. In such circumstances, choose instead Locate for the Kind field, and Library staff will review the request and provide appropriate access to the resource.)

If you can't locate the Library Collection record

Occasionally, a resource will be available to UniSA staff and students but may be difficult to locate via a Library Collection search. In such cases, use the Link Resolver tool create a permalink. There are two ways you can do this:

Library Citation Search

1. Start at the Library’s Citation search page, and search for the resource. (You can just enter a single unique element, such as the DOI.)
2. Your search will create and open a Link Resolver record; use this record's Bookmark.

Google Scholar Search

1. Start at the Library’s Google Scholar page, and search for the resource.
2. Once you find the required resource where a Fulltext at UniSA link is included, select that link. This will create and open a Link Resolver record; use this record's Bookmark.

For resources that are Open Access or freely available online

If the reading is an Open Access resource or can be freely accessed online, use the DOI link if available; otherwise copy the URL of the resource displayed in your browser's address bar.

If you're still unsure which link to use

If you're unsure which link to use, or if your reading request isn't urgent, choose Locate for the Kind field. Library staff will review your request and add the best link.

Yes. Library staff will review such files for third-party content, as part of the copyright compliance workflow.

No.

No and Yes. Boolean search operators (i.e. AND, OR, NOT) are not recognised. Phrase searching within double quotes will return relevant results from the Library Catalogue search (but not from eReserve).