Skip to Main Content

Find information

Where to search

Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to search. The following video (2 min 14 sec) will help you to understand why and when to use different search tools.

Key points from the video
  • Different search tools cover different collections of resources
  • The Library Collection is a good place to search for scholarly material
  • The Library Collection provides free access to a variety of resources types across a range of subject areas
  • Databases help focus your search and have more advanced searching options
  • Google Scholar provides access to a wide range of resources, but not all of it is scholarly
  • Use the Google Scholar link from the Library website for best access to full-text references
  • Search multiple places to save time and find better results
  • All resources need to be evaluated before using them

The Library Collection

The Library Collection is a good place to start your search for scholarly content. You can use it to find eBooks, journal articles, reports, videos and more.

Using the "Refine my results" menu, you can refine your search to find exactly what you need.

How to start your search (opens in a new tab)

 

Want to know more?

  • Watch this short video (1 min 48 sec) about searching the Collection
  • Test your knowledge with the following interactive tutorial:

How to search the Library Collection

Searching Google Scholar

Google Scholar heading

Google Scholar searches academic and scholarly websites.

Searching Google Scholar via the Library website activates a "Full-text at UniSA" link - this gives you direct access to Library-subscribed content.

Screenshot of Library website, highlighting the Google Scholar tab above the search bar.

Want to know more?

Test your knowledge with the following interactive tutorial:

Google Scholar search tutorial

For advanced Google Scholar tips visit the Web searching page in the Library's Grey Literature and Other Sources guide.

LibKey Nomad

With the Nomad extension activated, you can access direct links to eBooks, online articles and PDFs on websites such as PubMed, publisher websites, and Wikipedia using the following icon:

Download PDF icon

Benefits include:

  • Ability to access relevant Library content conveniently and instantly via the open web
  • Completely anonymous – no user data is shared with or by LibKey
  • Simple browser extension that can be set up in seconds without training

Download and installation help

Market research

WARC is an in-depth marketing and advertising resource with research, reports, case studies, and insights into brands and consumers. 

Tip: Try a general search first. For example, for Cadbury Dairy Milk try searching for chocolate. You can then filter your search with the options on the right side to a specific Location and Date Range.

How to explore consumer insights for an industry:

  1. Select More > Browse by interest > Topics.  
  2. Under the Consumer & audiences heading, select Show more.
  3. Select your consumer demographic.
  4. Select More filters (next to the results list).
  5. Type your industry in the Search within box.

Passport is a global market research database providing company and industry information, sales trends, marketing developments, and market strategies.

Business Source Ultimate helps you locate scholarly and industry information covering all business topics.

Below is an example of an Advanced Search in Business Source Ultimate.

Screenshot of advanced search in Business Source ultimate, with search: wine AND market* AND australia.

You can limit your search by publication date range or source type (e.g., Market Research Reports, Industry Profiles, etc.) from the box on the left hand side of the results screen.

IBISWorld contains company reports on the top 2000 Australian companies, with industry reports, as well as reports from selected US and Chinese industries. It also includes Australian Industry Risk Rating reports with forecasted risks the industry will face over the next 18 months.

To find company and industry information:

1. Type your chosen industry (e.g., beer manufacturing) into the search bar and hit Enter to search.

Screenshot of IBISWorld search bar.

2. Select the industry report that is relevant, or filter your results according to Country, or the type of Report you need.

D&B Hoovers includes access to industry and market research reports, Australian and global. The database also includes SWOT Analysis reports for the top 5000 global companies.

To search for company information:

1. Enter your search terms into the default Search for Companies box. 

2. Click the magnifying glass icon or press Enter to search.

3. Select your company from the results page.

4. If needed, you can modify your search from the left menu. Once you have selected your parameters, click View Results.

To search for industry information:

1. In the Search for Companies box, click the drop-down arrow and click on Industries. 

2. Type the name of an industry into the search box (e.g. beverage manufacturing).

3. Click the magnifying glass icon or press Enter to search.

4. Select the link to the industry code from the search results.

Statista provides information on market data, market research, and market studies. it also includes company and brand reports and industry reports.

You can search for company information by selecting the Companies & Products reports heading from the Reports tab and then searching for your chosen company.

Companies & Products tab in the Statista database header menu

You can also search for company information by typing the company name (e.g. Colgate) into the Statista Search box. You can refine further by using the Refine Your Search menu.

To search for industry information select Reports > Industry & Market reports and then search for your chosen industry.

Statisa screenshot

You can also search for industry information by typing the industry keywords (e.g. wine) into the Statista Search box. You can then refine further by using the Refine Your Search menu.

The Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC) operates the ACNC charity register. This searchable register contains information about charities, their financial information, annual reports, and the people involved. 

Use the Search for a charity feature to search by name, or location, or use the Additional search filters option to adjust your search.

Find more information

Find company and industry information

Find case studies

This short video (4 min 7 sec) introduces you to case studies - what they are and how they're used.

Find news media

Find statistics

A huge range of statistical resources can be found on the Library's Company and Industry Information Guide (see link to the guide above), or try the following key databases:

Find videos

Access to a wide range of video content through a number of key video databases, including:

Find skills modules

Further help with searching

Need more help?

Visit the Library research skills guide for an in-depth look at improving your searching skills. You will be able to apply these techniques throughout your studies.