Guides: Film, TV and Performing Arts: Acting, directing and writing

Library eBooks

Film Quarterly
Publishes in-depth articles, reviews, and interviews on all aspects of cinema, media, and society—from film classics to emergent technologies.
Literature Film Quarterly
The longest standing international journal devoted to the study of adaptation.
Sight and Sound
A publication of the British Film Institute with feature articles and interviews on recent motion pictures, notes on festivals, book reviews and film and video reviews.

Back Stage
Backstage is where performers can get information about the entertainment business.
Double Dialogues
A refereed journal dealing with the discourse and practice of the arts, encompassing the visual arts, film, multi-media, dance, music, creative writing and theatre.
Lighting Dimensions
Focuses on all aspects and issues related to lighting and lighting related technology.
PAJ a journal of performance and art
Offers extended coverage of the visual arts (such as video, installations, photography, and multimedia performance), in addition to reviews of new works in theatre, dance, film, and opera.

ArtsHub
Leading publisher of arts industry information, dedicated to the Australian arts and cultural industry.
Drama Online : 20th Century Drama
Core collection from Bloomsbury, containing over 750 playtexts from renowned playwrights.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database
In-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals.
National Theatre Collection
Streaming video of world-class productions, offering insight into theatre and performance studies. Includes unique supplements to the filmed productions.

Watch this video for some tips and discussion from various playwrights.

Video length: 5 min 09 sec

National Theatre : The Playwrights
Watch the rest of the video series on Youtube here.

The Actors Studio
An American theatre workshop where members gather together to work on their craft.
Backstage
An American organisation offering job postings, up-to-date news and views in the entertainment industry including film, television and theatre.
National Institute of Dramatic Art (NIDA)
Australia’s leading centre for education and training in the performing arts.

Australian Directors Guild
An industry association representing the interests of film, television and digital media directors, documentary makers, animators throughout Australia.
The Casting Society of America
Global organisation of casting professionals dedicated to upholding the highest standards of casting within the entertainment industry.
Screen Australia
The Federal Government's primary agency for supporting Australian screen production.
Screen Producers Association of Australia
We unite screen businesses to campaign for a healthy commercial environment, supported by a representative council and a full-time secretariat.
South Australian Film Corporation
The lead agency in South Australia for the promotion, stimulation and development of the local film industry.

Australian Writers' Guild
The professional association representing writers for stage, screen, radio and online.
South Australian Writers Centre
A not-for-profit organisation that aims to foster, develop and promote writers and writing.
Australian Plays Transform
Australia’s national play development, publication and licensing organisation. It hosts the world’s largest online showcase and searchable database of the best Australian playwriting.