Production design and management
Featured design resources
- Theatre and performanceA Youtube series by the Victoria and Albert Museum on costume design, staging, and props from their collections.
Stage production & event management
- Working in the theatreA Youtube series by the American Theatre Wing revealing the theatre's inner workings and interviewing industry luminaries.
Featured cultural collections
- AusStageAn online database of information and content about Australian and New Zealand live performance.
- The Australian Performing Arts CollectionAn extensive collection of Australia's performing arts heritage, including designs, costumes, objects, programmes and more.
- Collections at the Victoria and Albert MuseumThe Victoria and Albert museum has extensive online collections including fashion, opera, costume, and theatre and performance.
- The Costume Institute at the MetAn online collection of more than 33,000 objects that represents seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.
- Theatre on Google Arts and CultureAn online platform of images and videos from partner cultural institutions around the world, including theatre collections.
Feature video: Set design research
In this video, set designer Wendy Todd explains her research process.
Video length: 3 min 15 sec
- Behind the scenes | Sydney Opera HouseA Youtube playlist of behind the scenes content at Sydney Opera House, including the rest of the set design series with Wendy Todd.
Industry information
- AEPO: Alliance of Special Effects & Pyrotechnic OperatorsA professional organisation for special effects and pyrotechnic operators globally.
- Australasian Live Industry AllianceA news website centred around the lighting industry, with information on product releases, interesting applications, and more.
- Australian Production Design GuildAn Australian organisation that represents designers and their associates in screen, live performance, events, and digital production.
- MEAA: Media, Entertainment, and Arts AllianceThe Australian trade union and professional organisation which covers the sports, media, entertainment, and art industries.
- PAC Australia: Performing Arts ConnectionsThe peak body for performing arts centres, presenters and producers in Australia.
Related guides
