Film, TV and Performing Arts: Music

Music

The Library has a large collection of online resources including books, scores/sheet music and audio visual material.

Tip for searching for a musical score

  • Search the Library collection for a keyword e.g. the piece of music or composer
  • Use the Refine options to narrow Resource Type to Scores
  • Not sure of a specific item search for the keyword Music
  • See only online items use the Refine options Show Only to Full Text Online

Browzine journals


TIP: Not all journal titles are available to browse, search for a title to see if it is available outside of Browzine e.g. Journal of Jazz Studies

Databases

Search in one of the Library's databases to find more relevant results or items not available through the Library collection. Here are some relevant databases:

See the Databases page for the full list 

TIP: See Multidisciplinary databases for databases that cover a range of topics

National Film and Sound Archive of Australia

The collection spans over 120 years of Australian sound recordings, showcasing a wide range of subjects, genres and formats.

Listen to sound recordings from the collection at Search the Collection and Sounds of Australia (selection of recordings of significance to Australia)

LinkedIn Learning Videos

LinkedIn Learning contains thousands of courses (made up of quick videos), covering a wide range of professional, creative and technical topics.

Music topics include:

  • Music Theory for Songwriters
  • Learning Music Notation
  • Music Production: Techniques and Concepts
  • Vocal Lessons
  • Learn an instrument

National Library of Australia's music collection

The National Library of Australia's collection of digitised sheet music features:

  • more than 15,000 items
  • refine by decade or by author
  • beautiful cover artwork

Trove

Trove is a collaboration between the National Library of Australia and hundreds of partner organisations around Australia.

Search the collections of sounds (includes music & radio segments), printed music, audio books, videos and more...

Here is an example search for Jazz in the 'Music, Audio & Video' category.

For more information see:

Copyright at UniSA

UniSA has a music licence which permits the University to use music in certain ways without seeking separate licences or permissions each time. It covers rights that are controlled by the Australian Music Collecting Societies, APRA/AMCOS, ARIA and PPCA.

Want to know more?

See our Tertiary Music Licence page for details

websites/organisations?