Screen studies
Featured eBooks
Media and the affective life of slavery by Publication Date: 2022
Interpretation and film studies: movie made meanings by Publication Date: 2020
Surrealism and film after 1945 by Publication Date: 2021
Beyond Shakespeare : film studies, performance studies, and Netflix by Publication Date: 2023
Watch film, TV, and documentaries
The Library has many films, tv shows and documentaries available online to stream. Check out the Find information tab in this guide for some search tips.
Databases
Websites
-
National Film and Sound Archive (NFSA)Australia's national audiovisual cultural institution.
-
Film Australia CollectionThe national audiovisual archive, collecting, preserving and sharing the nation’s moving image and recorded sound heritage.
-
Feature Films in the public domainVia the Internet Archive - a list of films, silent films and trailers that are now in the public domain
Reviews and news
Websites
-
Rotten TomatoesAn online aggregator of movie and TV show reviews from critics. Also provides original editorial editorial content.
-
Dark HorizonsOnline entertainment news with a focus on industry rather than celebrity gossip.
-
IMDb: Internet Movie DatabaseOnline database of information related to films, television programs. Includes ratings and reviews for the newest movie and tv shows.
-
SBS MoviesA collection of movie reviews and discussion.
-
New York Times - MoviesCritics reviews and anatomy of a scene videos in which directors comment on the craft of movie-making.
Newspaper reviews
Access newspaper reviews via one of our newspaper databases listed below or view our database page for the full list
Videos and courses
Crash Course film production: Screenplays
Video length: 9 min, 18 sec
Crash Course is a Youtube channel which has released several video series to do with films. Check out some of their series below:
- Crash Course at the moviesA curated selection by Crash Course of the best movie-related videos from across their series.
- Film criticismA series based around analysing 15 films across different genres, directors, years, and countries, including Citizen Kane, Pan's Labyrinth, and more.
- Film productionA series that teaches introductory-level practical skills around film production.
ClickView is a database providing access to a large range of video resources, including many on filmmaking and visual storytelling.
Note: sign in to watch Clickview content
- Alex Buono's visual storytelling 2A series deconstructing visual style and showing how to recreate various genres and looks.
- Directing colourExplores visual language cues, colour theory, and colour grading and how they can be used throughout the filmmaking process to create a look and enhance storytelling.
- Illumination cinematography workshopA series that covers the theory and practical application of lighting, lensing, and composing scenes.
- Philip Bloom's cinematic masterclassA series guiding through the art and science of filmmaking.
- Vincent Laforet's Directing MotionTeaches the skill of camera movement and the cinematic language of motion.
Linkedin Learning
LinkedIn Learning contains thousands of courses (made up of quick videos), covering a wide range of professional, creative and technical topics including video journalism, communications, and writing.
- filmmaking
- video editing
- visual effects
- motion graphics
- video pre-production and more ...
LinkedIn Learning also has a wide range of courses on software so you can learn how to use or keep up to date with new versions.
Industry information
- AusFilmA membership organisation that promotes filming in Australia.
- Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA)A nonprofit dedicated to recognising and promoting film and TV excellence in Australia.
- Australian ScreenInformation about and excerpts from Australian films, documentaries, television programs, newsreels, short films, animations, and home-movies produced over the last 100 years.
- Screen AustraliaThe Federal Government's primary agency for supporting screen production. Aims to create an Australian industry that is innovative, culturally important and commercially sustainable.
- South Australian Film CorporationThe lead agency in South Australia for the promotion, stimulation and development of the local film industry.
- Academy of Canadian Cinema and TelevisionA national, non-profit, professional association dedicated to the promotion, recognition, and celebration of exceptional achievements in Canadian film, television, and digital media.
- Academy of Motion Picture Arts and SciencesBest known for the Oscar awards, this is the largest organisation in the world that focuses on the movies.
- British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA)An independent British charity that supports, develops and promotes the art forms of the moving image (film, television and games).
- International Federation of Film ArchivesA collaborative association of the world's leading film archives whose purpose is to ensure the proper preservation and showing of motion pictures.
- Anifex (South Australia)An Adelaide-based animation company.
- Closer Productions (South Australia)The Closer team has created entertaining and provocative documentary, drama and experimental films, which have screened in cinemas, TV, art galleries and at major festivals around the world.
- Epic Films (South Australia)An independent production company based in Adelaide who develop and produce innovative film and television projects, with a strong background in the online space.
- Liquid AnimationAn animation studio based in Brisbane.
- Rising Sun PicturesAn Adelaide-based VFX company.