BUSS 2043: Foundations of Human Resource Management
Assessments one and two
This assignment help page will help get you started finding resources for Assessments 1 and 2.
Before you get started make sure you have read the Course Outline and Learnonline site for the full assessment details.
Group Facilitation
Watch the video (4 min 25 sec) below to help you understand facilitation.
- Learning group facilitation guide PDF (1651 KB)This guide provides a framework for organizing, structuring and leading group facilitation. Also included is a planning document and checklist
- Community toolbox: Developing facilitation skillsLearn how to plan well, keep members involved, and create real leadership opportunities.
- Tips for facilitation groupsTen tips to enhance your effectiveness at facilitating groups
Finding company information
D&B Hoovers provides broker reports for publicly listed organisations, industry reports, and financial information including annual ratios, stock reports, geographical segments, business segments, income statements, balance sheets and cash flow.
For company reports use the Search for Companies field in the top-right hand corner of the home page or Companies from the drop-down menu in the Search & Build a List tab.
IBISWorld provides company reports for the top 2000 Australian companies as well as detailed industry reports on Australian industries and selected US and Chinese Industries.
1. To find company information, type your company name into the search box on the home page, e.g. Facebook, then select search.
2. If your company appears in the results list click on the title to open the report.
3. Use the menu on the left hand side to browse key information.
To download the report click this red arrow icon next to the company name. Delivery format options are PDF, Word or Excel.
Business Source Ultimate gives access to Company Profiles, Industry Reports, Country Reports, SWOT Analyses, and Market Research Reports. The database is USA focused but includes some Australian and international companies and industries as well.
To search for company information, type in the name of your company, e.g. Facebook, select 'CO Company Entity' and click Search.
See more tips on Searching for Company Information.
To find MarketLine or Medtrack Company Reports, use the Company Profiles option.
See more tips on Search for Company Profiles.
What are peer-reviewed academic journal articles?
Watch the short video below for an explanation on scholarly sources, including peer-reviewed journal articles.
Video length: 2 min 22 sec
Journals
|
You need to use peer-reviewed articles from A* or A ranked journals from the Australian Business Dean Council list (ABDC list). Below is a shortlist of some of these journals. Visit the Australian Business Dean's Council (ABDC) site to see the full list. |
Using Harvard Business Review
It is recommended to access the Harvard Business Review journal through the Business Source Ultimate database.
To search for articles on specific topics within the journal, click the 'Search within this publication' link and on the search page, then enter the title or keywords starting from the second row.
Note: Leave the first row as it is to keep the search within the Harvard Business Review journal.
What is a case study?
Please watch the video (4 min 7 sec) below on what is a case study.
Check the Course Outline for how you should layout your case study.
- Case Studies OverviewHelpful resources on case studies and examples.
Plan your search
To find information, you will need to think of keywords in your topic that you can use in your search.
- Determine your keywords/search terms
- Next think of synonyms or alternative words for these keywords
Example:
| Keywords/search terms | Alternative words |
| "job analysis" | "work analysis", "job design", "job demands" |
| "job characteristics model" | "job characteristics" |
| "Job Satisfaction" |
"employee satisfaction", "employee motivation", "career satisfaction" |
| Remuneration |
"pay benefits", "pay compensation", "employee-benefit programs" |
Above are just a few examples. For more information and tips on planning your search:
- Worksheet to plan your search PDF (170 KB)A printout to write out your ideas.
- How to plan your search PDF (276 KB)This resource explains how to combine and connect search terms using OR, AND, NOT.
- Plan your search video (2 min 26 sec)A video on how to plan your search with useful tips.
Search tips
Learn how to search the Library collection and databases effectively with the resources below. Watch this video on using the Library Collection (1 min 45 sec).
- How to save time searching databases PDF (301 KB)Use this guide to learn how to use truncation and wildcard symbols to get the best results when searching
Where to search
The Library Collection can be a useful tool for locating academic references. It is like a search engine that searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, audiovisual materials, journals and theses, together with resources from numerous databases.
When searching, try using these tips:
- Use quotations marks to keep words together as a phrase. E.g. "human resource management"
- Use AND (it must be typed in upper case) to connect all the concepts. This will narrow your search results.
- Use OR (typed in upper case) to connect alternative keywords within a concept. This will widen your search results.
- Group keywords within similar concepts together by enclosing them in brackets (or parenthesis) when using a single search box. E.g. (hrm OR "human resource management")
- Attaching the asterisk * to find alternative endings of a word. E.g. manag* will find manager, management, managing, etc.
At the results list you can use the Refine my results options to narrow your search. Options include:
- Limit to articles from Peer Reviewed publications for scholarly articles
- Publication Date (You may want to select a specific date range. E.g. 2019 to 2024
- See the full text for many items by selecting the title, then look for the Online link
Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search.
Make sure you access Google Scholar from the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.
Watch the video (2 min 13 sec): Why use Google Scholar? to find out more.
Business Source Ultimate is a comprehensive database that provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.
This is an example of an Advanced Search using Business Source Ultimate.
You can limit your search by date range and to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals from the box on the left hand side of the results screen.
What is ChatGPT?
ChatGPT is an artificial intelligence (AI) chatbot created by OpenAI and is trained take instruction from humans to generate a detailed response.
Please review the website and register to use it for free here.
Learn more about AI via the Library Guide on Artificial Intelligence for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education.
Referencing
- Referencing websiteResources on different referencing styles. Find examples of in-text citations and references for diverse formats including articles, books and book chapters, websites and more.
Note: Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the referencing style required for your course.
Managing your references
What do you do with all those references you have found? Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references.
There are many free systems available. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. For more information see the EndNote guide.