BUSS 3050: Organisational Leadership
1. Assessment one
This assignment help will help get you started finding resources for Assessment 1: Leadership Report.
Assessment 1 has two parts.
- Leadership reports: Part I
- Leadership reports: Part II
You need to find ONE bad leader in the business world or related fields. You CANNOT choose political leaders.
Note: Before you get started make sure you have read the course outline for full assessment details.
2. Plan your search
To find information you will need to think of keywords in your topic that you can use in your search.
Determine your keywords/search terms
Next think of synonyms or alternative words for these keywords
| Keywords/search terms | Alternative words |
| effectiveness | capability, competency, efficiency |
| leadership | administration, direction, governance, management |
| "organisational leadership" |
"leadership for organisations" |
Above are just a few examples. For more information and tips on planning your search:
- Worksheet to plan your search PDF (170 KB)A printout to write out your ideas.
3. How to search
Learn how to search the library collection and databases effectively with the resources below:
- How to save time searching databases PDF (301 KB)Use this guide to learn how to use truncation and wildcard symbols to get the best results when searching
4. Where to search
The Library Collection can be a useful tool for locating academic references. It is like a search engine that searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.
To do a search, try using
- "double quotes" for phrases
- truncation* to find the plural and other forms of a word
- connect using AND, OR and NOT
At the results list you can:
- Limit to articles from Peer Reviewed publications
- Limit by Date e.g. 2019 to 2024
- See the full text for many items by selecting the title, then look for the Online link
- See Library Collection Help for additional searching tips.
Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search.
Make sure you access Google Scholar from the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.
Watch the video (2 min 13 sec): Why use Google Scholar? to find out more.
Business Source Ultimate provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.
This is an example of an Advanced Search using Business Source Ultimate.
You can limit your search by date range and to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals from the box on the left hand side of the results screen.
News media can be a great source for finding more information about a leader. Use the Library's News Media Guide to find Australian and International news media.
Start your search with the following news media databases/websites:
5. Find more information
Find more information in the following online subject guides:
Business guide
This guide will help you search the web and our databases to find business related information, financial information and annual reports.
News Media guide
This guide will assist you to find News content through Library subscribed resources and online.search the web and our databases. It also has a tab on: Fake news
NewsBank grants access to thousands of Australian and International newspaper titles. For more media resources see the News Media guide.
Also try searching:
Fortune Journal : Provides insights on strategy, innovation, management and leadership and is a key journal for this discipline.
Case Studies
6. What is a refereed academic journal?
For your assessment, you need to have:
At least 3 academic journal articles for Leadership report part 1, plus 2 other references
At least 9 academic journal articles for Leadership report part 2, plus 6 other professional references
Watch the video below (2 min 22 sec) to learn about academic or scholarly sources.
7. Recommended academic journals
| Your cited academic references MUST be sourced from journals ranked as A*/A on the Australian Business Dean Council list (ABDC list). Below are a short list: |
8. Check out these videos
- How leaders emerge (6 min 36 sec)Patricia Jenkinson talks about a variety of leadership theories.
- Why do the worst people rise to power? (5 min 32 sec)University College London professor Brian Klaas talks about why do the worst people rise to power.
- The dark side of leadership (14 min 41 sec)Linda Karp explains how workplace culture is shaped by leaders.
- Why do so many incompetent men become leaders? (9 min 32 sec)Based on research on the psychology of leadership, discusses which criteria should be used to choose leaders.
9. Write your assignment
The Student Engagement Unit has created a suite of resources called Study Help to help you understand different assignment types.
Have a look at:
- Study Help: APA 7Referencing style guide for APA 7 : resources to help with formatting your in-text citations and reference list entries.
- Study help: Assignment writingA collection of resources and videos about writing assignments.
- Study Help: Case studiesA collection of resources on how to write effective case studies.
- Study Help: ReportsResources on how to write effective reports.
- Study Help: Understanding assignments and instruction wordsResources to help with understanding your assessment and searching for relevant resources.
- Referencing websiteHelp with various referencing styles. Find in-text citations and reference examples from different sources such as articles, books and chapters, websites and more