There are 2 assessments that are broken up into 2 parts:
This page has been created to help you find information for your assignment. Before you get started make sure you have read the Course Outline and Learnonline site for the full assessment details.
Passport GMID is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. To find industry information:
IBISWorld provides company reports for the top 2000 Australian companies as well as detailed Industry reports on Australian industries and selected US and Chinese Industries. Industry reports include information such as:
To find industry reports type your industry within the main search box, e.g. chocolate, then select search.
You can also browse industries by selecting Industry research > Choose a country or global (e.g. US) > Select appropriate report.
For Australian Industry Reports, you can find Covid-19 Impact update and Risk Ratings Report.
Business Source Ultimate gives access to Company Profiles, Industry Reports, Country Reports, SWOT Analysis, and Market Research Reports. The database is USA focused but includes some Australian and international companies and industries as well.
To search for an industry profile, enter the name of the industry (e.g. chocolate) in the search box and click Search.
On the left hand side under Refine Results, select Source Types, (click Show More to see full range of sources):
And in the pop-up box, select Industry Profiles then hit the Update button.
For more information on how to find Australian industry and company information have a look at our Company and industry information guide.
Tip: Also look at your Company's website to learn more about your company
As part of your assessment Part A, you will need to participate in group facilitation. The below resources provide an overview on what group facilitation is, and how to successfully perform group facilitation.
"What does a facilitator do?" In Meeting Facilitation by Prakash Raman (2m 59s)
Please log into LinkedIn Learning with your UniSA login details to access full series content.
For your assignment you will need to search for academic references. Start planning your search by:
Below are some examples of keywords:
|Human Resource Management||IHRM, HRM, HR, human resources|
|Recruitment||recruit, selection, hiring|
|Compensation||pay, payment, remuneration, salary|
For more search tips use the resources below:
Watch this short video (approx 2 mins) to gain a better understanding of academic, scholarly, or peer-reviewed sources .
|Your cited refereed journal articles MUST be sourced from one or more of the following shortlisted journals. You must use at least fifteen (15) academic scholarly references to support your arguments.|
Some of the leading peer-reviewed IHRM journals are listed below:
It is recommended to access the Harvard Business Review journal through Business Source Ultimate database. To search for articles on specific topics within the journal, click the 'Search within this publication' link and on the search page, enter the title or keywords starting from the second row.
Note: leave the first row as it is.
The Library collection can be a useful starting point in locating academic references.
To do a search, try using
To search key terms in a specific journal in the Library Collection, you can add a Series (journals) search filter as in the example below :
You can search databases to find quality journal articles on your topic. To find which databases are best suited to your subject area, go to the Database subject list, and select the > next to the Business and Management heading. For this course choose the Human resource management databases.
Most databases have a limiting feature which will allow you to retrieve items published within a particular year or year range e.g. 2013-2018.
Business Source Ultimate is a database which covers all things business and includes peer-reviewed journals.
You can limit your search to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles by ticking the scholarly/peer reviewed option. You can also limit your search by date range.
Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. For more information on using Google Scholar, have a look at our Searching for your Literature Review Guide. Click on the image below to learn how to use Google Scholar effectively.
By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Fulltext at UniSA link.
Critical thinking is an essential part of taking a scholarly approach to learning. It involves analysing and questioning information you receive to arrive at logical, well-reasoned conclusions.
The following resources will assist you in understanding and developing your critical thinking and analysing skills needed for your assignment.
Now that your research is completed it is time to put all of your information together. Watch this short video for tips on how to write a report.
What do you do with all those references you have found? Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references.
There are many free systems available. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. For more information, see the EndNote guide.