Skip to Main Content

BUSS 2054: Principles of Logistics and Supply Chain Management - Assessment 1B: Report

1. Assessment 1B: Report

This assignment help page will help get you started finding resources for Assessment 1B: Report.

Please refer to your course site and course outline for full assessment details and requirements.

2. Plan your search

Before you start searching you should identify the main concepts within your topic or question. Read the brief guide on Understanding assignments and instruction words - PDF (258 KB), this will help you with interpreting each of the prescribed questions.

When you are clear on the task, brainstorm some terms you might want to search for and think of some alternative words or synonyms too.

Here are just a few examples of keywords:

  • "supply chain"
  • "sustainable logistics"
  • "performance goals"

You can search using your keywords and you can also combine them using the following tips:

  • double quotes around phrases
      e.g. "supply chain"
  • an asterisk (*) finds other forms of a word
      e.g. manag* will search for manage, managing and management
  • use AND between terms to search for both
      e.g. "trade-offs" AND "performance goals"
  • use OR between similar terms to search for either
      e.g. objective OR goal OR aim

Above are just a few examples. For more information and tips on planning your search explore the following resources

3. What are academic sources?

Academic sources can be referred to scholarly sources or peer-reviewed (refereed). These can include journal articles, books, book chapters, reports and other sources.

To find out more about academic sources look at the resources below:

See the video (2 min 22 sec) below to know more about academic or scholarly sources.

Tip: When searching in the Library Collection you can filter your results to show only 'peer reviewed'.

4. Where to search

The Library Collection can be a useful tool for locating academic references. It is like a search engine that searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.

To do a search, try using

  • "double quotes" for phrases
  • truncation* to find the plural and other forms of a word
  • connect using AND, OR and NOT

A screenshot of a search example in the Library collection

At the results list you can:

  • Limit to articles from Peer Reviewed publications 
  • Limit by Date e.g. 2019 to 2024
  • See the full text for many items by selecting the title, then look for the Online link
  • See Library Collection Help for additional searching tips.

Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. 

Make sure you access Google Scholar from the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

Watch the video: Why use Google Scholar? (2 min 13 sec) to find out more. 

The Advanced search option gives more flexibility when you search. Note: you will have to click on the hamburger menu (the three horizontal lines next to the Google Scholar logo) on the Google Scholar page then select Advanced search.

Business Source Ultimate provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.

Try searching using different variations of your concepts and keywords until you find relevant results.

This is an example of an Advanced Search using Business Source Ultimate.

An example search in Business Source Ultimate

You can limit your search by date range and to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals from the box on the left hand side of the results screen.

5. How to write a report

Watch this short video (2 min 53 sec) for tips on how to write a report or access the overview document at the bottom of this box.

6. Referencing support

Managing your references

What do you do with all those references you have found? You can use a bibliographic management software to store, organise, and cite your references.

There are many free systems available. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. EndNote automates citing your references and allows you to create and organise a library of references. For more information and to download the software, check out the EndNote Guide: