Management: COMM 2072: Communication and Organisational Practices

Assignment Help

1. COMM 2072: Communication and Organisational Practices

This page has been created to help you get started with assignment 1 & 2. Please refer to your course page for the full assessment details and requirements.

2. Assignment 1 & 2: Finding resources

Before you start searching for academic sources, it is a good idea to plan your approach. 

For example, if for your reflective journal you want to explore the causes of miscommunication within the workplace start by:

  • Thinking about what your key concepts are.
  • Then brainstorm other synonyms or alternative concepts you could use in your searches.
  • Consider word plurals, different word endings, common acronyms or different word spellings. This is important as not everyone refers to ideas in the same way. 

 A mind map or table can be a good strategy for organising ideas:

Key concepts Miscommunication Workplace
Alternative concepts

miscommunicating

misunderstanding

communication barriers

communication distortion

work

organization

organisation

job

As you start searching you can add to the table or mind map.

Do the same for your reflective report. Remember for this assessment you will need to choose:

  • An organisation or group which you belong to. If you do not have work experience consider the below options:
Work place University group Sporting Club
Social group Volunteer group Religious group
  • A communication exchange
Social Media YouTube video Current affairs
TV show segment Novel Other creative work
In addition to referring to the Readings for both topics in both assignments, you need to find academic sources and theory to reflect on and support your analysis.


The Library Collection can be a useful starting point in locating academic references. The library collection contains resources such as print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.

To do a search, try using

  • double quotes for phrases
  • truncation* to find the plural and other forms of a word
  • connect using AND, OR and NOT

Library collection search: online communication AND customer engagement

At the results list you can:

  • Limit to articles from Peer Reviewed publications 
  • Limit by Date eg 2010 to 2020
  • See the full text for many items by selecting the title, then look for the Online link
  • See Library Collection Help for additional searching tips.

Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. For more information on using Google Scholar, have a look at our Library research skills guide.

By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website, you will be able to link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

Business Source Ultimate provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more.

This is an example of an Advanced Search using Business Source Ultimate.

You can limit your search by date range and to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals from the box on the left hand side of the results screen.

3. Assignment 1: Reflective writing

For Assignment 1 you are asked to write a short (300 word) journal response to an aspect of the theory for each week. You will need to use academic resources and theory (See box 2 for how to find resources) to reflect on and analyse the communication in your organisation.

The below resources may assist you in writing your journal entries. 

4. Assignment 2: Oral presentation

For Assignment 2A you have been asked to make a short (2-3 minute) video presentation. Look at the resources below to learn more about making a recording, and using Zoom to record a video.

 

5. Providing feedback

For Assignment 2A you will also need to peer review 3 presentations.

6. Assignment 2: write a report

Now that you have done your research it is time to put all of your information together. Watch this short video (approx 3 mins) for tips on how to write a report or access the overview document at the bottom of this box.

image of an information icon For more help on improving your academic skills and referencing, please visit Study Help page.

7. Referencing Support

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)
Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)
Help with the Harvard UniSA referencing style. Find in text-citations and reference examples, from different sources such as articles, books & chapters, websites, and more.

Other referencing support tools:

  • Referencing forum
    Discuss referencing, exchange advice and post questions and answers about referencing (facilitated by Student Engagement Unit).
  • What do you do with all those references you have found?

    Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. There are also many free systems available.

    8. Language and grammar

    Both assignment 1 and 2 require you to use correct English grammar, spelling and punctuation. The following resources will provide you with some language skills and guidance for your journal and report writing. 


    Watch the following video to brush up on your grammar skills. Use the time stamps to jump to sections you need.