Media and statistics
Professional associations
A national, not-for-profit organisation that serves as the peak professional body for midwives in Australia.
The peak body representing Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander nurses and midwives across Australia.
Supports the implementation and development of Midwifery registration, standards, investigations and accredited courses of study.
Establishes high-quality standards of nursing and midwifery education, training and assessment.
A not-for-profit organisation supporting midwives through legislative changes for private midwifery practice.
The South Australian branch of the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation.
The union for registered nurses, enrolled nurses, midwives, and assistants in nursing doing nursing work throughout Australia.
Aims to strengthen Midwives Associations and promotes autonomous midwives as the most appropriate caregivers for childbearing women.
Twitter feeds
Midwifery-specific statistics and data
Pregnancy Outcome statistics - SA Health
The Pregnancy Outcome Unit in SA Health undertakes the monitoring and collating of pregnancy characteristics and outcomes to help identify population groups most at risk and determine preventative interventions. Data collection areas include:
- The Perinatal Statistics Collection
- Maternal, perinatal and infant deaths
- Birth defects
- Terminations of pregnancy
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (Mothers and Babies)
The AIHW aims to collect data on and monitor the standard of maternity services and outcomes in Australia. The ‘Mothers and Babies’ population group includes data on how a newborn baby’s health such as gestational age and birthweight, alongside a mother’s attributes such as smoking & drinking during pregnancy and address can affect obstetric and perinatal outcomes.
The Maternity Information Matrix (MIM) is a summary of data items in Australian national and jurisdictional data collections relevant to maternal and perinatal health.The MIM includes:
- 45 data collections including perinatal collections, births and deaths, congenital anomalies and specialist collections
- nearly 500 data items
- metadata for each item including definitions and descriptions
- data collection overviews with information about each collection.
Nurse and Midwifery Registration Australia
The National Registration and Accreditation Scheme requires that information about every registered health practitioner in Australia is published on a single national register of practitioners. In 2012, the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia began publishing quarterly data profiling Australia’s nursing and midwifery workforce, including a number of statistical breakdowns about registrants.
World Health Organisation - Midwives' voices, midwives' realities report
This publication documents the realities of practicing midwifery in 93 countries, describing their experiences and what they perceive to be the barriers to providing quality care.
Videos
- Meet the ExpertsMeet the experts is an Australian series of interviews with some of the world's top childbirth experts.
- The Face of BirthDocumentary by Kate Gorman and Gavin Bank who look at women's choices in how and where they give birth.
- One Born Every MinuteOne Born Every Minute is an eight-part observational documentary series that captures the dramatic, emotional and often funny moments that accompany bringing new life into the world.
- The MidwivesThis series follows the midwives on the Central Delivery Unit at Saint Mary's Hospital in Manchester - one of the busiest labour wards in the UK.
- Call The MidwifeCall the Midwife is a BBC period drama series about a group of nurse midwives working in the East End of London in the late 1950s and early 1960s.
Birthing and care videos
These videos were created by the UniSA Midwifery teaching staff. To access them, you will need to use your UniSA network username and password.
Other Useful Guides for finding Statistics
