Find evidence (Government and organisation information)
Key learning points
In this section, you will learn:
- the benefits of searching the web
- how to perform an effective internet search
- a list of reputable websites for:
- background information
- online health information providers
- government information
- non-government organisations
- professional bodies
Overview
You won't find everything you need for your study in the Library
Collection and databases. Therefore, it is important to search the internet to find any information from other reputable sources such as government departments, non-government organisations (NGOs), and professional bodies.
A simple search using a search engine (e.g. Google) will often find:
- government documents
- organisational information reports
- guidelines, policies and standards
- codes of conduct
Note: Sometimes, it is more effective to go directly to a website for the information you need.
Search the web
Internet search engines such as Google do not have sophisticated search interfaces like the Library Collection or databases. Therefore, your search will need to be broad.
Below is an example of a Google search for guidelines.
Notice the brackets are used to group all the document types together and AND is used to connect with your main concept.
If you wish to search for Australian guidelines only, use AND to connect Australia as another concept.
Note: Truncation symbols do not work well in Google. It's better to search for variation of terms separately, e.g. guidelines OR guideline.
Search for documents within a particular website
You can use Google to locate documents within a particular website. Below is an example of a Google search for a government published document:
- in the search field, type site: and then enter the URL without the www.
e.g. site:health.gov.au - Enter the keywords and document type immediately after the URL.
Note: This search technique will only work for publicly available document, it cannot retrieve information from any Library database with a firewall.
Learn more:
Background information
- Health DirectAn Australian government-funded service, providing quality health information.
- MedlinePlusAn online health information resource from the US National Library of Medicine.
- Better Health ChannelVictorian Government for health and wellbeing information and services.
Government information
- Australian Government Department of HealthFederal Government Department site providing extensive health information and resources for the general public and health sector. Reports, government responses, procedures, strategies and more.
- Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information.
- My Aged CareFederal Government website relating to aged care information and services.
- SA HealthSA Government department providing reliable health information and updates.
Non-government organisations
- Australian Indigenous Health Info NetInforms practice and policy by making research readily accessible.
- The Joanna Briggs InstituteThe Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is the international not-for-profit, research and development Centre within the Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences at the University of Adelaide, South Australia. It brings together a range of practice-oriented research activities to improve the effectiveness of nursing practice and health care outcomes.
- World Health Organization (WHO)The WHO promotes health, provides information and responds to emergencies.
Professional bodies
- Australian College of NursingA professional body representing nurses from all practice areas throughout Australia.
- Australian Nursing and Midwifery FederationThe South Australian branch of the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation.
- Australian Practice Nurses AssociationThe peak national body representing the needs of nurses working in general practice.
- Congress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives The Congress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives (CATSINaM) is the sole representative body for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander nurses and midwives in Australia. CATSINaM’s primary function is to implement strategies to increase the recruitment and retention of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples into nursing and midwifery professions.
Policies, practice and standards
- Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health CareThe Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (the Commission) was initially established in 2006 by the Australian, state and territory governments to lead and coordinate national improvements in safety and quality in health care.
- Australian Council on Healthcare StandardsThe ACHS provides accreditation, clinical standards and education services.
- Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia Provides official standards, codes and guidelines for the nursing profession.
- Professional Standards for Practice (Nursing and Midwifery Board)The framework for midwifery practice in all Australian contexts.
Other relevant guides
