NURS 2023: Health of Adults - Nursing Case Study Report
NURS 2023: Health of Adults
This assignment requires you to complete a nursing case study of 2500 words.
This assignment help assumes you have read your course outline. For full assessment details, please refer to your course outline.
Nursing standards, safety and quality standards
The following resources may also be useful:
- Nursing and Midwifery Board: Professional StandardsCodes of conduct, standards for practice, and codes of ethics
- Patient Safety and Quality: An Evidence-Based Handbook for NursesNurse's care planning process
Plan your search
- Searching for your whole assignment is not very effective
- Mapping out your search is a good place to start
- Identify the key concepts in your question or topic
- You don't need to search for task words
- Use double quotation marks (" ") to search for two or more words together as a phrase
- Think about what other words (synonyms and alternative terms) might be used to describe the key concepts
- You can use acronyms, but you should search for the full terms as well
- To find fewer results, add different concepts using AND (e.g. rural AND Australia)
- To find more results, add synonyms or alternative terms, to your search using OR (e.g. "renewable energy" OR solar OR wind)
- You can change your search as you find more information
- For more information, read the How to plan your search document
- How to plan your search (PDF)A short guide on steps you need to plan your search, including how to combine your search terms using OR, AND, NOT.
Search Strategies
After watching the above video you can now start by identifying the concepts (main ideas) from your assignment topic prior to searching. Consider alternative words for these concepts which, together with the concept term, become your searchable keywords.
Question:
Prepare a best-practice care plan for teenage patients with type 2 diabetes
| Keywords | Synonyms and alternative concepts |
| type 2 diabetes | diabetes, diabetes mellitus, insulin-resistant diabetes, hyperglycaemia, high blood sugar, high blood glucose level |
| teenager | youth, adolescent, adolescence, teen, young adult, teenagers |
| plan of care | care plan, action plan, management plan |
Create your search
Use the tools described in the video above to create an effective search.
| Line 1 | "type 2 diabetes" OR "diabetes mellitus" OR "insulin-resistant diabetes" OR hyperglycaemi* OR "high blood sugar" OR "high blood glucose level" |
| Connector | AND |
| Line 2 |
teen* OR youth OR adolescen* OR "young adult*" |
| Connector | AND |
| Line 3 | "care plan" OR "plan of care" OR "action plan" OR "management plan" |
- Plan your search (Nursing)Learn more about planning your search for your assignment in this Library guide.
Search the Library Collection
The Library Collection can be a useful starting point in locating quality information.
Use it to find:
- books or ebooks
- journals or journal articles
- conference papers and newspaper articles
Search in databases
Journal articles are often found in databases.
Useful databases to search:
- MEDLINE (via Ovid)A large biomedical database produced by the US National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is key for health-related topics. Indexed with the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) and with records from 1946 to current, primarily for scholarly journal articles. MEDLINE via Ovid is recommended for systematic searches rather than via the free PubMed.
- ScopusOne of the largest multidisciplinary bibliographic databases, Scopus covers peer reviewed journals, trade journals, books and book chapters, conference papers and patents. Also provides backward and forward citation searching, publication metrics and analytical features
- Health Collection (via Informit)Covers health-related material from and about Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific and South East Asia. Focuses on nursing and allied health, with key subjects including public health, patient care, aged care, Aboriginal Australians, child welfare and family violence.
Database limits and filters
Database limits and filters may be applied to reduce your search results if you have too many. Some useful limits include 'English Language' or date. Note the following about using limits:
-
Using a limit only applies to the database you are currently searching. If you have selected more than one, only the results from the filtered database will display.
-
If the database is bibliographic (abstract) only – it won’t find any full-text. Using a full text limiter will therefore yield 0 results.
If you limit your results, there is always the potential that you could miss some important/useful research.
Peer-reviewed journals
Articles from peer-reviewed journals are of high quality and can be used to support the argument that you are presenting. Articles in peer-reviewed journals must go through an evaluation process with experts in the field before being published. The term refereed is also used.
Watch the following video to learn more about scholarly sources.
- Often you will be asked to use scholarly, academic, or peer-reviewed sources in your assignment.
- Scholarly sources (also called academic sources) can include journal articles, books, conference papers, and theses.
- Sources such as Wikipedia, newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, blogs, social media and personal websites are called popular sources.
- A scholarly source:
- is written by researchers within a subject area,
- reports on research findings,
- contains comprehensive in-text citations and a reference list or bibliography,
- uses specialised terminology and a formal writing style, and
- is often peer-reviewed or refereed.
- A peer-reviewed or refereed journal article is assessed by experts within the field before it is published.
- Peer-reviewed journal articles should include:
- author details including affiliations with organisations,
- an abstract which summarises the article,
- evidence of research findings, and
- in-text citations and a reference list.
- When searching in the Library Catalogue or databases, you can filter for scholarly, academic, or peer-reviewed resources.
- Books can also be scholarly. A scholarly book:
- is written by an expert,
- is published by a reputable publisher,
- has a table of contents,
- provides in depth subject information,
- includes an index of terms, and
- has in-text citations and a reference list.
Select appropriate references
You should critically evaluate all resources found to determine their appropriateness for your assignment. The video below explains more.
- Having access to a lot of information can be overwhelming.
- Evaluating information helps you decide what resources you should use.
- One technique you can use is the CRAAP test.
- Currency: How recent is the information? Does it suit your needs?
- Relevance: Is the information relevant to your assignment?
- Authority: Who wrote the information? Are they an expert?
- Accuracy: Is the information accurate? Is it supported by evidence?
- Purpose: Why was the resource created? Is there any bias?
- You can use the CRAAP tool to think about these issues when evaluating your resources.
Write your assignment
Visit the Student Engagement Unit's Study Help website for help writing your assignment, or to make an appointment with SEU staff.
- Study help: Writing and academic languagePrintable resources and videos to help you structure, format and write your assignment using appropriate language.
Referencing support
- Referencing websiteHelp with various referencing styles. Find in-text citations and reference examples from different sources such as articles, books and chapters, websites and more.
Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the citation style required for your course.