Nursing: NURS 5164: Best Practice in Adolescent Mental Health

Assignment Help

NURS 5164: Best Practice in Adolescent Mental Health

NURS 5164: Best Practice in Adolescent Mental Health

This assignment help is designed to help you with your:

  • Assessment on critical thinking
  • Reflective writing                                                    

This assignment help assumes you have read your course outline. For full assessment details, please refer to your course outline.

Understand your task (reflective writing)

If you're not familiar with reflective writing as an assignment task, the video and resources below may assist you to understand what is required.

  • Reflective writing helps you to look back over your learning experiences.
  • It shows how your knowledge, skills and attitudes are developing.
  • Reflective writing involves more than just describing your learning and development.
  • It's important to evaluate and analyse your learning to show a deeper level of reflection.
  • This can include what, why, and how you are learning, any changes you would like to make, and gaps in your understanding.
  •  You may need to link your reflections to your course readings and theories, and consider how these reflections can help you develop as a professional.
  • The layout of reflective writing can vary - always check your task instructions and feedback form for specific details.
  • You can use more personal language in your reflective writing, however it is still a formal assignment and may require you to reference key theories or ideas in an academic style.
  • Reflective writing is not a linear process. It involves adding, changing, rethinking, refining, restructuring your ideas.

Plan your search (video option)

  • Searching for your whole assignment is not very effective
  • Mapping out your search is a good place to start
  • Identify the key concepts in your question or topic
  • You don't need to search for task words
  • Use double quotation marks (" ") to search for two or more words together as a phrase
  • Think about what other words (synonyms and alternative terms) might be used to describe the key concepts
  • You can use acronyms, but you should search for the full terms as well
  • To find fewer results, add different concepts using AND (e.g. rural AND Australia)
  • To find more results, add synonyms or alternative terms, to your search using OR (e.g. "renewable energy" OR solar OR wind)
  • You can change your search as you find more information
  • For more information, read the How to plan your search document

Search strategies

After watching the above video you can now start by identifying the concepts (main ideas) from your assignment topic prior to searching. Consider alternative words for these concepts which, together with the concept term, become your searchable keywords.

Question:
"What are the mental health challenges from a client-centred perspective?"

Keywords Concepts Synonyms and alternative concepts
mental health mental balance, emotional stability, mental hygiene
challenges barriers, difficulties, risky behaviours, risky behaviors, mood changes
client-centred client-centered, patient-focused, patient-centred, customer-centred, customer centred, customer centered

Combine your search string

Line 1 "mental* health*" OR  "mental* balance*" OR "emotional* stabilit*" OR "mental hygiene*"
Connector AND
Line 2

barrier* OR difficult* OR "risky behaviour*" OR "risky behavior*" OR "mood change*"

Connector AND
Line 3  "client-centred" OR "patient-focus*" OR "patient centred" OR "customer-centred" OR "customer centred" OR "customer centered"

Databases

Emcare
Searching in Emcare is different to searching in the Library Catalogue.

1. Type your first concept and alternative words into the search box.
2. Uncheck the box labeled Map to Subject Heading.

3. Select Search.
4. Repeat steps 1-3 for your next concepts.
5. Tick the boxes next to each of your concept lines.
6. Select Combine with AND.

7. Scroll down to see your results.

 

Use this tutorial to learn how to search the Emcare database

More useful databases:

Feedback

Essential reading

Mental health: A Person-centred Approach can be accessed via the Library Collection or purchased from online retailers.

Cameron's Collection

Cameron's Collection is a collection of resources supporting teenage mental health and wellness. To find a title in the Library's collection,  search by title. See the PDF below for the available list of titles:

Search by title

Search for the title in the Library Collection using double quotation marks, eg "Deconstructing stigma in mental health"

Select appropriate references (standard)

You should critically evaluate all resources found to determine their appropriateness for your assignment. The video below explains more.

  • Having access to a lot of information can be overwhelming.
  • Evaluating information helps you decide what resources you should use.
  • One technique you can use is the CRAAP test.
  • Currency: How recent is the information? Does it suit your needs?
  • Relevance: Is the information relevant to your assignment?
  • Authority: Who wrote the information? Are they an expert?
  • Accuracy: Is the information accurate? Is it supported by evidence?
  • Purpose: Why was the resource created? Is there any bias?
  • You can use the CRAAP tool to think about these issues when evaluate your resources.

Peer-reviewed journals (video option)

Articles from peer-reviewed journals are of high quality and can be used to support the argument that you are presenting. Articles in peer-reviewed journals must go through an evaluation process with experts in the field before being published. The term refereed is also used. 

Watch the following video to learn more about scholarly sources.

  • Often you will be asked to use scholarly, academic, or peer-reviewed sources in your assignment.
  • Scholarly sources (also called academic sources) can include journal articles, books, conference papers, and theses.
  • Sources such as Wikipedia, newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, blogs, social media and personal websites are called popular sources.
  • A scholarly source:
    • is written by researchers within a subject area,
    • reports on research findings,
    • contains comprehensive in-text citations and a reference list or bibliography,
    • uses specialised terminology and a formal writing style, and
    • is often peer-reviewed or refereed.
  • A peer-reviewed or refereed journal article is assessed by experts within the field before it is published.
  • Peer-reviewed journal articles should include:
    • author details including affiliations with organisations,
    • an abstract which summarises the article,
    • evidence of research findings, and
    • in-text citations and a reference list.
  • When searching in the Library Catalogue or databases, you can filter for scholarly, academic, or peer-reviewed resources.
  • Books can also be scholarly. A scholarly book:
    • is written by an expert,
    • is published by a reputable publisher,
    • has a table of contents,
    • provides in depth subject information,
    • includes an index of terms, and
    • has in-text citations and a reference list.

Write it up

Oral presentations

The following resources will help you prepare for oral presentations:

Watch: Oral presentations (Study Help page)
Watch: Building great business presentations (1:08:00)

Watch: Delivery tips for speaking in public (31mins)

Listen: Speaking Confidently and Effectively (22mins)

Read: Ten simple rules for making good oral presentations

 

Correctly reference your sources (standard)

You must appropriately cite (‘acknowledge’) all references used in your assignment to avoid plagiarism.

Try: Learn to Reference - Part 1 interactive tutorial
Try: Learn to Reference - Part 2 interactive tutorial

 

Need more help?

You may find the following information in the Nursing Subject Guide useful for your assignment:

If you need help, just ask! (standard)

Navigate to the Ask the Library webpage. Navigate to the UniSA study help pals webpage. Navigate to the Studiosity webpage. Navigate to the Learning Advisors' webpage.
Contact: Ask the Library Ask: the Study Help PALs Use: Studiosity Talk to: Learning Adviser