Rural and remote
Search
Many databases, and the Library Collection, contain literature from all over the world. For rural or remote health literature specific to Australia, first add the terms rural or remote to your search. Then:
- use the search term 'Australia' in your search or
- limit by geographic region 'Australia', if available
You could also try one of these subject searches in the Catalogue:
TIP: Use the connector 'OR' to find synonyms when searching. For example, remote OR rural.
Search Library databases to find relevant articles on rural and remote health.
- Health Collection (via Informit)Covers health-related material from and about Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific and South East Asia. Focuses on nursing and allied health, with key subjects including public health, patient care, aged care, Aboriginal Australians, child welfare and family violence.
Archival database covering 1966-2017. Covers rural and remote area health issues and care
Find more health databases to search, such as Embase and Medline, here.
Web resources
- Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW): Rural health
Find specific information on Rural Health here. The AIHW national agency for gathering health and welfare statistics works closely with national and state services and agencies.
- Department of Health - WA Country Health Service
WACHS is responsible for the delivery of health services to regional Western Australia.
- National Centre for Farmer Health
"The Centre provides national leadership to improve the health, wellbeing and safety of farm men and women, farm workers, their families and communities across Australia" — Home page.
- Department of Human Services, Victoria – Rural Health
"This site provides information on rural health services, community and workforce issues and highlights major projects undertaken by the Rural and Regional Health Services Branch of the Department of Human Services.”
- CRANAplus: improving remote health
The aim of this organisation is “to promote the development and delivery of safe, high quality health care to remote areas of Australia and her external Territories" — (CRANA Constitution).
- National Rural Health Alliance (NRHA)
Comprises both consumer and service provider member organisations and works to improve the health of Australians in rural and remote areas.
- National Rural Health Students Network (NRHSN)
Network of university rural health clubs representing medical, nursing and allied health students with the aim of enlarging the health workforce and improving health outcomes for rural and remote Australians.
- Royal Flying Doctor Service (RFDS)
- Services for Australian Rural & Remote Allied Health (SARRAH)
Established in 1995, SARRAH is a grassroots organisation advocating on behalf of rural and remote Australian communities in order for them to have access to allied health services
