Aboriginal Peoples
Search
Many databases, and the Library Collection, contain literature from all over the world. To search for Aboriginal content:
1) Add the terms Aboriginal OR "Indigenous Australians" OR "First Nations" OR "First Peoples" to your search
2) Use the search term Australia in your search
2) Limit by geographic region Australia if available
Below are some key databases to help you find literature (e.g. articles, papers) on indigenous health.
- ATSIhealth Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health bibliography (via Informit)Find published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous health.
- Indigenous databases (via informit)A suite of databases containing information relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.
- LIt search - Lowitja InstituteThis search tool provides easy access to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature on the PubMed database. You can either search across all literature or one of 27 search topics.
Find more health databases to search, such as Embase and Medline, here.
New resource
Now available in the Library Collection: Health Professionals and Indigenous Health (2022) edited by Wendy Edmondson & Robyn Williams.
Key websites
Lowitja Institute works for the health and wellbeing of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. The Lowitja Institute produces resources, reports, publications and tools on topics that are relevant to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health and wellbeing.
Catalogue includes PDF resources and online articles
- Australian Indigenous Health InfoNet
Aims to inform practice and policy in Indigenous health by making research and other knowledge readily accessible. Find reports, articles, key journals, statistics, news, government publications, and more.
- Closing the Gap Clearinghouse
"A clearinghouse for research and evaluation evidence on what works to overcome Indigenous disadvantage" — homepage. Closing the Gap is an initiative of the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare and the Australian Institute of Family Studies.
- Department of Health: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health
"A collection of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health-related information in the Health website" — homepage
AHCSA is the peak body representing Aboriginal community controlled health and substance misuse services in South Australia
Videos
- Aboriginal health videos via the Library CollectionA range of videos that are available online via the Library collection from a variety of sources.
- Lowitja Institute YouTube Channel"The Lowitja Institute is Australia's National Institute for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Research" — homepage.
- NACCHO TVThe National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO) is the national peak body representing 146 Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisations across the country on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health and wellbeing issues.
Aboriginal research
This page has been created to assist with undertaking Aboriginal research. Resources include texts focusing on Indigenous research methods, guidelines to provide ethical and responsible practice in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander research and the Indigenous Referencing Guidance for Indigneous Knowledges.
