Join an upcoming one-hour webinar for University of South Australia Covidence users showcasing some of the new features recently introduced to Covidence, including an RCT Classifier, machine learning functionality, PRISMA improvements, and an improved bulk PDF uploader.
This webinar, presented by Covidence, will also demo other features on request and answer your questions live.
Date and time: 18th April 11.30 am-12.30 pm Adelaide time.
Register to attend here if you'd like to join, or if you're unable to join but would like to receive a recording of the session.
Covidence is web-based software that assists researchers to screen references and undertake data extraction.
If you already have an account with Covidence, log in via the link below:
Video Length: 3:24
Covidence allows you to conduct the following steps of the reviewing process:
During the reviewing process, you can:
|Link to UniSA subscription|
Sign in to Covidence (use the sign-in button in the centre of the screen). Then:
Once you have created a review, visit the Settings.
Here you can:
See the full range of settings and learn how to use them by watching the below video.
Video Length: 16:20
You're now ready to import your references into Covidence:
After completing your reference import, Covidence will search for duplicates. If any are identified, these will automatically be suppressed and a 'Duplicates' button will appear.
You can check that Covidence de-duplicated correctly by:
You can also manually mark additional duplicates detected while screening as described in the article Viewing duplicates and errors.
Watch the video below to learn how to vote in Title/Abstract screening.
New: you can now also use machine learning to help speed up the screening process.
Screening Titles & Abstracts (Covidence, YouTube). Video length: 2:55
Second pass screening requires the full text of each paper.
See the How to screen page of this Guide, Finding the full text - top tips box for strategies to help you locate full text that is proving difficult to locate.
LibKey Nomad may also help speed up the process.
Use LibKey Nomad™ to easily find full text articles. Download the free browser extension to enable direct links to UniSA licensed PDFs on webpages.
Watch the video below to learn how to complete Full Text (2nd Pass) screening.
Video Length: 8:01
When you are ready to do your full text screening you will need to add the full text to your records.
Covidence has partially automated the process and will use Digital Object Identifiers in records to locate and attach open access PDFs when a study moves from title and abstract screening to full text screening. This will probably not locate all available PDFs, however.
Watch the following video to learn how to add and/or remove a single PDF in Covidence. There is also a bulk PDF option.
There is also a bulk PDF upload option. This will allow you to upload a number of PDFs for full tex screening at once.
Once you have finished screening, you are ready to commence data extraction. You can either: