Aboriginal languages
Language map
This AustLang map attempts to represent the language groups of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.
Drag and click or zoom on the image to navigate. By selecting the icon 
on the language group, you have the option to search for items in the Library Collection relevant to that group.
Aboriginal Peoples are advised the Library Collection contains images, voices and names of deceased people in physical and online resources.
The Library recognises the significance of the traditional cultural knowledges contained within its Collection. The Library acknowledge some materials contain language that may not reflect current attitudes, was published without consent or recognition, or, is offensive. These materials reflect the views of the authors and/or the period in which they were produced and do not represent the views of the Library.
The Library acknowledges standard vocabularies and practices used by libraries to describe resources can lead to the use of harmful, offensive and outdated terms. We are actively updating our resource descriptions to be more inclusive.
You can help us by emailing DiscoveryServices@unisa.edu.au to report offensive / harmful terms or inaccuracies in our collection and/or metadata.
Language resources
Explore these resources to learn more about Aboriginal languages.
- Kaurna WarraThis website provides information about the Kaurna language as well as Kaurna video resources.
- Austlang database - AIATSIS CollectionAustlang provides information about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages which has been assembled from a number of referenced sources.
- First Languages AustraliaFirst Languages Australia offers links and guides to working on Indigenous language programs across Australia.
- Australian Indigenous Language Collections (National Library of Australia)The National Library's Manuscripts Collection contains original written records relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and their languages.
- Mobile Language TeamThis digital online language learning portal incorporates language lessons, videos and other learning resources for a number of Aboriginal languages used in South Australia.
- Yagara Dictionary and Salvage GrammarYagara is the Pama-Nyungan language traditionally spoken in the area that now includes Brisbane and Ipswich.
- A Grammar of Warlmanpa (Not yet published)A descriptive analysis of Warlmanpa, a highly endangered language traditionally spoken northwest of the town of Tennant Creek.
- Innamincka Words: Yandruwandha dictionary and storiesOne of a pair of companion volumes on Yandruwandha, a dialect of the language formerly spoken on the Cooper and Strzelecki Creeks and the country to the north of the Cooper, in the northeast corner of South Australia and a neighbouring strip of Queensland.
- Innamincka Talk: a grammar of the Innamincka dialect of Yandruwandhu with notes on other dialectsOne of a pair of companion volumes on Yandruwandha, a dialect of the language formerly spoken on the Cooper and Strzelecki Creeks and the country to the north of the Cooper, in the northeast corner of South Australia and a neighbouring strip of Queensland. This volume is more technical.
- Wiidhaa : an introduction to GamilaraayThis book draws on recent research into previous records and analyses of Gamilaraay and of the closely related, and better recorded, Yuwaalaraay.
Search the Library
You can search the Library Collection to find relevant resources, for example searching for:
Databases
- AUSTLANG: online Australian indigenous languages databaseA free online database. Find information on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages from different sources.
- AWABAFind information on indigenous history, culture and languages of Newcastle and Lake Macquarie. A free online resource created by the University of Newcastle.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (via ProQuest)Use this database to discover international literature (including journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers) in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Journals
Featured books
Something's Gotta Change: Redefining Collaborative Linguistic Research by ISBN: 9781760465483Publication Date: 2023
Bina by
The incredible story of the resilience and recovery of Australia's First Nations languages Australia's language diversity is truly breathtaking. This continent lays claim to the world's longest continuous collection of cultures, including over 440 unique languages and many more dialects. Sadly, European invasion has had severe consequences for the vitality of these languages. Amid devastating loss, there has also been the birth of new languages such as Kriol and Yumplatok, both English-based Creoles. Aboriginal English dialects are spoken widely, and recently there has been an inspiring renaissance of First Nations languages, as communities reclaim and renew them. Bina: First Nations Languages Old and New tells this story, from the earliest exchange of words between colonists and First Nations people to today's reclamations. It is a creative and exciting introduction to a vital and dynamic world of language. 'Years in the making, Bina offers a multidimensional reflection on how many diverse languages across this continent continue to vibrate in rich and profound ways. The emergence of Indigenous linguists Gari Tudor-Smith and Paul Williams as authors of this survey alongside Felicity Meakins signals an important and welcome shift in the Australian linguistics landscape.' --Professor Clint Bracknell, University of Western Australia, Nyungar musicologist and musician
ISBN: 9781743823644Publication Date: 2024-07-30
Kaurna Warrapiipa, Kaurna Dictionary
Kaurna Warrapiipa, Kaurna Dictionary by ISBN: 9781743059210Publication Date: 2022This simple, comprehensive and insightful dictionary is easy to navigate and is grounded with ancient and modern Kaurna voices and robust historical and contemporary sources.
Pedagogies in Practice Collection
The Pedagogies in Practice Collection contains physical and digital resources that can be used by pre-service teachers to plan field placements within schools. The collection includes resources designed to aid in the teaching of Aboriginal languages and culture, such as the following:
Burlayi: the matching game by
Publication Date: 2023
