UniSA Education Futures
Aboriginal knowledges and perspectives in the curriculum
Aboriginal education organisations
- Respect, Relationships, ReconciliationAboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education: Resources for pre-service teachers
- Stronger SmarterVision is to see Stronger Smarter communities across Australia, where people are strong in culture, strong in identity and are able to enjoy prosperous, safe and healthy lives.
- Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)Conducts research, collects information and publishes in the field of Australian Indigenous studies
- Indigenous Education - Australian Council for Research (ACER)Recent publications in the areas of Indigenous education.
- South Australian Aboriginal Sports Training Academy (SAASTA)A school based education program designed to support young Aboriginal students achieve their SACE. A key component of the program is to offer rich learning experiences that are integrated into curriculum.
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander EducationThe Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership website. Identifies what teachers need to know and be able to do in order to teach Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students and to teach all students about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages, history and culture.
Government departments
- Aboriginal Education StrategyBy the Department for Education South Australia. The strategy focuses on empowering our Aboriginal students as proud and confident learners, on their paths from birth through to beyond school.
- Indigenous EducationThe Department of Education, Skills and Employment - Australian Government website.
Databases
- FNQ Far North Queensland CollectionA bibliographic database that covers the Torres Strait exhaustively and Far North Queensland indigenous issues exhaustively. There is selective coverage of Far North Queensland local history, environment, eco-tourism, and biographies.
- Indigenous AustraliaThis bibliographic database represents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Library. It includes all videos, some monographs and articles.
- AIATSIS: Indigenous studies biographyThe AIATSIS Indigenous Studies Bibliography is a bibliographic database that indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous studies. All records relate to Australian Indigenous studies, and are in English with some in Australian Indigenous languages. The broad topic areas cover languages, cultures, anthropology, archaeology, health, education, arts, oral histories, history, legal issues such as native title, criminal justice, land rights, customary law and its recognition, women's issues, youth issues, government policies and programs.
- Sage Journals: EducationThis database includes the full text of 144 journal titles published by SAGE and participating societies. Covers such subjects as special and inclusive education, curriculum, leadership & management, education research methods, early childhood education, education studies, teaching diverse students and teaching methods.
- Informit Indigenous CollectionWith a broad range of international Indigenous research resources brought together, the Informit Indigenous Collection offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Readily available, the multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post)colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual and performing arts.
Case studies and other resources
Case Studies
- UniSA Research visible on Library HomepageLimit your search to UniSA works. Contains records of UniSA research outputs, including publications, creative works and Higher Degree Student PhD and Masters by Research theses
- Emerald InsightEmerald Insight currently provides online access to 300 journals and over 2,350 books and book series volumes, as well as providing an extensive range of online products and additional customer resources and services.
Multimedia and more
- ABC IndigenousThe ABC Indigenous portal aggregates Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander stories from around the ABC & around Australia. Access the latest Indigenous stories and features from ABC Radio, News & Current Affairs, TV and iview.
- NITVNational Indigenous Television (NITV) is a channel made by, for and about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. NITV informs, educates and entertains its Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal audiences about the issues that matter the most to Aboriginal Australians. NITV provides a rich diversity of cultures, languages and talent.
- Living BlackLiving Black is Australia’s Aboriginal current affairs program. Hosted by Karla Grant, the half-hour show provides timely, intelligent and comprehensive coverage of the issues affecting the Aboriginal community.
- Informit EduTVFind over 30,000 programs from a range of learning areas. Includes documentaries, and programs broadcast on pay TV channels such as The History Channel, National Geographic, BBC Knowledge and Discovery.
- National Film and Sound Archive (NFSA)The National Film and Sound Archive is Australia's 'living' archive – the custodian of over 2.8 million items that we not only collect, but preserve for future generations and share in many diverse ways.
Special Collections at UniSA
- Pedagogies in Practice via Special CollectionsHeld across two campus libraries, Mawson Lakes and Magill, containing physical and digital resources used by pre-service teachers to plan and prepare for field placements.
- Professor Lowitja O'Donoghue CollectionThe Professor Lowitja O'Donoghue Collection includes books, reports and documents relating to Aboriginal culture, heritage, advocacy and rights, memorabilia from the Sydney 2000 Olympics, along with books, awards, correspondence and memorabilia including honorary doctorate gowns and hats.
- The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander CollectionIncludes books and material relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and histories and resources received as part of the Margaret Carnegie Gift to the Library in 1992.