Where to Search
Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to search. The following video will help you to understand why and when to use different search tools.
Video Length: 2 minutes 14 seconds
Library Collection and Google Scholar
 Search the Library Collection |
The Library Collection is a good place to start your search for scholarly material. You can use it to find eBooks, journal articles, reports, videos and more.
Using "Refine my results" menu to refine your search to find exactly what you need.
| Search Google Scholar |
Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than the whole internet. You will be able to link directly to articles that the library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link. Search in Google Scholar directly from the Library homepage for best access to full-text references.
Find More Information
 Find Videos |
You can access a wide range of video content through a number of key video databases, including:
OR When searching the Library Collection, use the Refine my Results menu to refine the Resource Type to Audio Visual
 Find News Media |
The Library's News Media Guide provides help searching and evaluating a wide range of Australian and International news media including newspapers, television, radio and media releases. Start your search with:
 Find Statistics |
A huge range of statistical resources can be found via the Library Collection and databases.
OR when searching databases or the Collection for statistics, simply add the word 'statistics' into your search.
 Find Archives and Special Collections |
Primary sources and information on Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Indigenous studies can often be found in special and archival collections. To find out more, visit the Archival Research Guide.
Please note: When searching special and archival collections, you may come across words and descriptions in resources that are culturally insensitive and not used in today's context.
 Find Conference Papers |
Conference papers or proceedings are the written version of presentations given at conferences or meetings or professional or scholarly bodies and organisations. Conference papers can be a great way to find up to date information, research trends and innovations on a specific topic because researchers often present their findings first at conferences.
To search for conference papers:
- Include the words conference and/or proceedings in your search.
- Refine the your results by type or format to limit your results to conference proceedings.
- Search the Conference proceedings citation index database.
- Search the websites of specific conferences or organisations.
