TOUR 1001: Understanding travel & tourism
1. TOUR 1001: Understanding travel & tourism
This guide was created to assist you with:
- Assignment 1: Portfolio
- Assignment 2: Analysis of a destination - United States
Refer to your course outline for a detailed description of the assignment.
2. Plan your search
Typing your question into Google or the Library collection is not the best way to search.
Mapping out your search can be a good place to start:
- Identify the key concepts in the assignment question - are there any synonyms you could use?
- Remove task words from your assignment question
- Use the course readings or reliable websites to understand your topic
- Think about what types of information you need - which parts of your argument need references as supporting evidence?
- Explore relevant theories that might apply to your topic
- Check the assignment requirements - do you need to use recent information?
3. Finding information
The Library Collection can be a useful starting point in locating academic references. It is like a search engine which searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.
To do a search, try using
- double quotes for phrases
- truncation* to find the plural and other forms of a word
- connect using AND, OR and NOT
At the results list you can:
- Limit to articles from Peer Reviewed publications
- Limit by Date e.g. 2019 to 2024
- See the full text for many items by selecting the title, then look for the Online link
- See Ask the Library for additional searching tips.
Business Source Ultimate provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.
This is an example of an Advanced Search using Business Source Ultimate.
You can limit your search by date range and to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals from the box on the left hand side of the results screen.
Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search.
Make sure you access Google Scholar from the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.
Watch the video (2 min 13 sec): Why use Google Scholar? to find out more.
4a. Assessment 1: Portfolio
Assessment 1 gives students an opportunity to develop a portfolio, with focus on learning reflection. Watch the video below (1 min 36 sec) for an overview of a learning portfolio:
The following resources may also be useful:
- Assessing by Portfolio: Developed by the University of NSW
- Getting Started with e-portfolios: An introductory guide from Jisc
- E-portfolios: Developed by Te Kete Ipurangi, New Zealand's bilingual education portal
- Examples of Student ePortfolios: Made available by the University of Waterloo
- Learning Journals: Available from the ANU's website.
4b. Assessment 1: Reflective writing
If you are not familiar with reflective writing as an assignment task, this video (2 min 15 sec) and the resources below it may assist you in understanding what is required.
- Introduction to Reflective Practice (UniSA): This online module was developed by the Student Engagement Unit and provides an introduction to reflective writing practice for students at the University of South Australia
- Reflective Writing (UNSW): A guide to reflective writing developed by the University of NSW
- Reflective Writing (QUT): A quick guide to reflective writing from the Queensland University of Technology
5. Assessment 2: Destination United States
Assess how the United States is promoted as a tourist destination while exploring resources:
- Investigate the Visit the USA travel website
- Read The Telegraph: North America travel guide
- Take a look at tour companies such as TourRadar or Trafalgar
Check the Company and Industry Information Library Guide for information on searching business databases for country information, as well as analysis of tourism industries. For example, you can search Library databases such as Statista and WARC, using keywords like United States and tourism.
- WARC is useful to find articles, case studies, and research on industry and consumer trends.
- Statista is the leading statistics portal for market data, market research, and market studies.
After you have logged into Statista, enter your search terms. For example: tourism United States.
From the right-hand side, you can Refine your search.
Select Location from the menu. Scroll down and select United States.
The filter will automatically apply once selected.
6. Assessment 2: Explore these recommended resources
- [eBook] Cultural heritage and tourism: An introduction (2020)This book provides a comprehensive overview of the issues, practices, current debates, concepts and management concerns associated with cultural heritage-based tourism, as well as applied knowledge.
7. Recommended text
8. Referencing support
- Referencing websiteResources on different referencing styles. Find examples of in-text citations and references for diverse formats including articles, books and book chapters, websites and more.
Note: Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the referencing style required for your course.
Managing your references
What do you do with all those references you have found? Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references.
There are many free systems available. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. For more information see the EndNote guide.