Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Covidence is a web-based software that assists researchers to screen references and undertake data extraction.
If you already have an account with Covidence, log in via the link below:
Covidence demo - video length 3:25
Covidence allows you to conduct the following steps of the reviewing process:
Full text review
Risk of bias appraisal
Collection of study characteristics
During the reviewing process, you can:
see the decision of your fellow reviewers
efficiently resolve disagreement; and
conclude a final decision.
Step 1: Create a Covidence account
Link to UniSA subscription
Enter your UniSA email address into
to request an invitation to UniSA's Covidence account. this form An invitation will be emailed to you: Click the link within it to confirm.
Create a Covidence account, using the same email address.
Step 2: Create a new Covidence review
Sign in to Covidence (use the sign-in button in the centre of the screen). Then:
select 'Create a New Review' and follow the prompts,
select "University of South Australia" - this will enable you to invite multiple co-reviewers (see example image).
Note: If there isn't an option to select University of South Australia, repeat Step 1 (create a Covidence account) above.
Step 3: Establish settings and invite co-reviewers
Once you have created a review, visit the Settings.
Here you can:
invite others (including co-reviewers) to your review.
enter keywords, which will then be highlighted in your article title/abstracts.
determine team roles for screening.
establish exclusion criteria for second pass screening.
See the full range of settings and learn how to use them by watching the below video.
Video Length: 16:20
Step 4: Import to Covidence
: you need to export your EndNote library in order to continue. Please refer to
Step 4 in EndNote Tab
You're now ready to import your references into Covidence:
Import studies > Import to Screen 'Browse' and select the .txt file exported from EndNote
Importing citations into Covidence from EndNote -video length 4:04
Step 5: Check duplicates
After completing your reference import, Covidence will search for duplicates. If any are identified, these will automatically be suppressed and a 'Duplicates' button will appear.
You can check that Covidence de-duplicated correctly by:
selecting the Duplicates button.
compare Side-by-Side entries.
if you identify a false duplicate, select 'Not a Duplicate' next to that record.
actual duplicates require no further action.
You can also manually mark additional duplicates detected while screening as described in the article
Viewing duplicates and errors.
Video Length: 1:53
Note: this video was produced prior to the introduction of the option to manually mark records as duplicates.
Covidence will automatically identify duplicates by comparing the existing and the newly imported references.
The de-duplication method will check the exact match of article's title, year and volume number. It will also check for similarity of the authors’ name.
To view duplicates:
Go to: Review dashboard > Import studies > Manage imports
Select: Check duplicates
After the process, the duplicates will be automatically accounted for in the PRISMA flowchart
To access the PRISMA flowchart, go to: Review dashboard > Export studies > PRISMA
Step 6: Screen in Covidence
Watch the video below to learn how to vote in Title/Abstract screening.
Screening Titles & Abstracts (Covidence, YouTube). Video length: 2:55
In title/abstract screening, there are three voting options: Yes, No and Maybe.
The filter function can speed up your screening process by identifying key terms that you wish to include or exclude.
You may add inclusion and exclusion criteria in free text form. The criteria will be displayed during the screening process.
Decision conflicts can be found in the 'Resolve conflicts' tab.
Second pass screening requires the full text of each paper.
Use LibKey Nomad™ to easily find full text articles. Download the free browser extension to enable direct links to UniSA licensed PDFs on webpages.
Watch the video below to learn how to complete Full Text (2nd Pass) screening.
Video Length: 5:17
In full-text screening there are two voting options: Include and exclude.
When voting exclude you are required to provide a reason from the exclusion list.
You may only choose one reason from the exclusion list.
The exclusion list is customisable.
Additional comments can be provided in the
Add a note section. The
Show Highlight function can speed up your screening process by identifying the key terms you determined. Decision conflicts can be found in the
Resolve conflicts tab. To open the PDF file, select
View full text to read the article in a new browser window.
When you are ready to do your full text screening you will need to add the full text to your records.
Watch the following video to learn how to add and/or remove a PDF in Covidence:
Uploading single PDFs to Covidence - video length 1:27
To add a full text document, select
Add full text to upload your PDF file. Once the PDF file is uploaded, all reviewers can see the document.
To open the PDF file, select
View full text to read the article in a new browser window. To replace an existing PDF file:
Add another PDF Set the new PDF as
Primary Remove the old PDF
There is also now a 'bulk PDF upload' option. This will allow you to upload a number of PDFs for full tex screening at once.
Watch the video below to learn more about uploading PDFs to Covidence.
Video Length: 5:06
Note: Please do not use the original list from EndNote – a new list is created from Covidence
Export the references from Covidence
In Review Summary dashboard, select
Full text review Reference manager:
Export. The file will appear directly underneath Select
Download (note the location of the saved file) Import the references into EndNote
In EndNote, open New EndNote library:
File > New Import references:
File > Import > file
Reference manager: RIS Select:
Import Use the
Find full text function in EndNote
Select all your references (CTRL + A)
References > Find full text
(You may be prompted to log in with you UniSA credentials) For those references not found, you may be able to add the PDF to EndNote manually. To learn how, visit
Import a single PDF in the EndNote guide Export the EndNote library in XML format
Select all your references (CTRL + A)
File > Export
Save as type:
XML (*xml) Output style:
Ref Man (RIS) Export (if the option is not available in the dropdown list, choose: Select Another Style) Untick:
Export Selected References Save
Move the PDF files into a single folder for batch upload
In your EndNote Library Data folder you will see each PDF has its own subfolder. You need to transfer all PDFs into a single folder
Import the XML reference files with PDFs into Covidence
Review Summary dashboard under Full text review, select: (number of) Studies to screen Select:
Bulk upload PDFs Select files (your saved XML file)
Once you see the total number of studies found, choose the same
Select files button Select all your PDF files
You will see the matching number of files uploaded
Once you have finished screening, you are ready to commence data extraction. You can either:
continue using Covidence, or
export your included/excluded resources to another program, such as Excel.